PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398

$42.84*

  • Febreze® bags available!
  • Febreze® Bags Available!

    Eliminates Odors and Freshens as you vacuum

    3267.jpg17F9.jpg17F9-L-2.jpg

    bissell.com.jpg

    walmart.jpg

    Febreze and related trademarks are owned by The Procter & Gamble Company, Cincinnati, Ohio and used under license by BISSELL Homecare, Inc.

     

     

     

Loading...

PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398

PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398
Video And Image Gallery

Premium Allergen Filtration

The BISSELL PowerForce® offers the best of both worlds with a bagged vacuum. While vacuuming, feel at ease knowing you are filtering allergens and eliminating household malodors all at once!

  • Powerful Suction - great performance for an all around clean
  • Versatile Convenience with on-board tools and lightweight design
  • Febreze Bag eliminates odors and freshens as you vacuum
  • Multi-Level Filtration
  • Stretch hose provides extra reach

The advantages of a bagged vacuum
The PowerForce® Vacuum is one of the few BISSELL upright vacuums that is bagged instead of bagless. Using a bagged vacuum means you won’t have to make as much contact with the dirt and debris collected by your vacuum since it all stays enclosed inside the bag. If you don’t like cleaning out a dirt cup and don’t mind purchasing replacement bags, a bagged vacuum may be right for you.

  • Main Information

    Product Title:PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398
    Model #:1398
    Similar Models:71Y7, 71Y71, 71Y72, 71Y73, 71Y7R, 71Y7V, 71Y7W, 71Y7Y
    Quantity:1
    List Price:$42.84
    Rewards Points:43
    Warranty:1 year limited
  • Special Features

    Premium Allergen Filtration
    • Powerful Suction - great performance for an all around clean
    • Versatile Convenience with on-board tools and lightweight design
    • Febreze Bag eliminates odors and freshens as you vacuum
    • Multi-Level Filtration
    • Stretch hose provides extra reach
    Help
    Microban® Protection - Microban® antimicrobial product protection is built in to products during manufacturing to help provide continuous protection from microscopic organisms that can cause stains, odors and deterioration.
    Microban® Protection:
    No
    Surface Type:Carpet, Upholstery
    Power Rating:10 Amps
    Heater:No
    Filtration:Multi-Level Filtration
    Cleaning Path Width:13.5"
    Weight:12 lbs
  • Power

    Power Rating:10 Amps
    Power Source:Corded
    Heater:No
    Help
    Air Flow Indicator - Shows you when the air flow in your vacuum has been disrupted so you know when there is a clog.
    Air Flow Indicator:
    No
    Brush System:Rotating
    Brush On/Off Switch:No
    Power Cord Length:23'
    Automatic Cord Rewind:No
  • Filtration

    Filtration:Multi-Level Filtration
    Clean Filter Indicator:No
  • Dirt Collection

    Surface Type:Carpet, Upholstery
    Cleaning Path Width:13.5"
    Surface Height Settings:5
    Help
    Dual Edge Cleaning - Additional brushes and suction on the sides of the cleaning path – great for cleaning along baseboards.
    Dual Edge Cleaning:
    Yes
    Bag Type:Bagged
    Easy Empty™ Dirt Cup:No
    Dirt Sensor:No
  • Specialty Tools

    Multi-Use Tools:Crevice Tool, Combination Dusting Brush/Upholstery Tool
    Reach Extension Tools:Extension Wand
  • Other Specs

    Color:Black
    Carry Handle:Yes
    Headlight:No
    Soft Bumper:Yes
    Belt Type:Style 7/9/10/12/14/16 Replacement Belt

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 147 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Vacuum! I've had this vacuum a little over 6 months now, and its worked great! I hadnt owned a Bissell before, and I was looking for a moderately priced bagged upright for less than $100, with cleaning attachments/tools. The Bissell Powerforce was the least expensive available. At less than $40 new, it was right in my preferred price range. I sprinkle carpet freshener on rugs before vacuuming, and the Bissell sucks it and any dust bunnies right up. It works great on both carpet and vinyl. Dont let its price fool you; this vacuum gets the job done, and does it well! Bag removal/replacement is easy. When not in use, the vacuum will fit into a closet or a corner, standing out of the way but ready for use - just plug in and go. The only additional features I could wish for are a headlight, and for the power cord to come out of the left side of the unit, but the lack of those don't affect the quality of the vacuum - they are just personal preferences. I lent it to my mom who had a really old metal canister vacuum, and she loved this Bissell so much, Im going to get her one. This vacuum is just what you want and need in a vacuum: quality, dependability, and ease of use, all in a well-priced vacuum that you don't need to take out a loan to buy! Thank you, Bissell! :) December 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tough to beat for the price! Over the years, we had a few of the big-dollar "amazing" vacuums and they all broke in a short amount of time and the warranties were a joke. So I decided to get the simplest, least expensive vacuum the store had. Our thought was if we get a year or two out of it and it breaks, we chuck it and get a new one. It was 5 years ago we bought our PowerForce and it is still working like a top!!! We built a new house a little over a year ago, and we bought another Powerforce for the downstairs, and keep our original PowerForce in the upstairs closet to do the bedrooms and hallway!!!! We love it! December 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blown away AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING! Okay, I know all caps is a turn off for some people, but this vacuum warrants them. This vacuum is powerful, very lightweight, built amazingly well, and get this, it's BAGGED! That may turn off some people at first, it certainly did me, but after 4 months of use now I can confirm that I'm never using a bagless vacuum again. It sucks up the dirt and keeps it sealed in. The HEPA filter on the side has no dust in or around it (visible at least). My old bagless unit's HEPA compartment would get all dusty after a couple weeks use, and you'd have to practically take apart the whole machine and clean it. Not this one! Also, I'd like to mention that the Febreeze bags are awesome. They actually have a nice scent, and they last! I change my bag about once a month, and the scent has always lasted through the bag change. What else... I think that's it for now. Don't let the low price fool you, it's amazing. I definitely recommend it! December 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE BEST BAGGED VACUUM EVER I HAVE BOUGHT THIS VACUUM AT A LOCAL WALMART IN 2005 WITH THE HEADLIGHT ON IT. I HAVE HAD IT FOR 7 YEARS AND IT STILL WORKS WORKS LIKE A BEAST. OK ILL ADMIT IVE HAD CLOGGING ISSUES IN THE PAST, BUT NOW IT WORKS AGAIN AND HAS A HUGE AMOUNT OF SUCTION. THANKS BISSELL December 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This one doesn't suck....that is the issue Vacuums are supposed to suck, and this one does NOT!!! I bought mine a few years ago. The only thing good about it is that the handle and bag do not separate from the bottom like my previous vacuum did. Maybe it did ok the first year, but it doesn't work like it used to. I do empty the bag regularly. This product also claims to be lightweight. NOT!!! If you have wrist issues do not buy this vacuum. December 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best so far.... I am just a regular full time employed woman who cleans up her house on weekends.......This vaccuum cleaner is so far the best I have purchased considering its low price. I had a more expensive vaccuum cleaner but it did not do the job. THANKS TO BISSELL POWERFORCE... Mdl November 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by better than my bag less one I work as a housekeeper and at first I had a vacuum that was bag less, at the beginning it did a great job but after a while it wasn't. In less than a year it lost suction even after I cleaned it. I later bought the PowerForce vacuum and after a year it still does its job. Although it has a bag, its worth it. This vacuum has not loss suction and its very affordable, I recommend it to anyone on a budget. October 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by highly recommend i have a cleaning business also and have tried every vacuum out there, these work the best. even better then orick and dyson. i purchase them by the half dozen just to make sure i have back ups. i love them so much i used my back ups for home use also. anyone who says they dont work or dont pick up is nuts. yes they should have a longer cord, i have never had one break on me yet and it's about 3 yrs with the same 6 i bought. i clean about 10 houses a week up stairs and down stairs vacuuming. most of my homes have both cats and dogs this vacuum works great on pet hair too. October 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Poor man's Porsche This is definitely the Vacuum cleaner many consumers are looking for, but it is not advertized (advertisements cost money, that is why the upscale vacuums can afford it), and buyers don't know that it exists. I was looking online for a month, and I couldn't find anything like this -except a couple of heavyweights. Then I stumbled on this by chance at a Walmart, and I couldn't believe my eyes! Walmart online doesn't list this, and I assume as a retired economist that its online list is for affluent clients, whereas in the store unadvertised products are for poor people that don't have computers, nor do online shopping! I bought it, and it is perfect for me. The reasons? Vacuum cleaners have become so grotesque and heavy to portray a "high tech, high price" image, but for me they are ugly behemoths. First thing when I bought this one, and tested at home, was to trash my still working wind tunnel heavyweight in the garbage. I wish I had discovered this unadvertised gem earlier. October 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good vacuum when I ordered this product I did not realize that it was not a bagless vacuum. However in the packaging was a nice offer for vacuum bags to order and this was easy and they arrived promptly. The vacuum is light so I dont mind carrying it upstairs. It works well on my carpet and cleans it well enough considering the age of my carpeting. October 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Withstands cleaning business... I could not tell you how many I've bought for my cleaning business. The only trouble I've ever had was the roller assembly getting loose and wearing out,but we cleaning 6 days a week and 3-4 houses a day being 2-3 level houses.I do wish you had left the longer cord as on the older models.but I have to give this vaccum a AAA+++ I see and use all type(when the owners thinks thiers is better )but my powerforce out beats them all.I have also sold numerous vaccums to my clients simple because it does better than the one they own..Pj's October 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bissell PowerForce Bagged Upright Vacuum I just bought a second PowerForce for our home today. The first one I purchased six years ago is working just fine. Do not be fooled by the purchase price. This product has exceeded my expectations. This vacuum has outlived and outperformed other brands I have tried, well known brands that cost much more! Bissell is number one in my mind when it comes to vacuum sweepers and a best overall value. Bags, Belts, and Filters are inexpensive and easily found in local stores or online at Bissell. September 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Owned for 12plus ywears W have owned a Powerforce vacuum for 12plus years and are completley satisfied with it`s pefomance...so much so that the only thing to replace it is the PowerForcebagless vacuum!!!!! Will still keep the older vacuum as a backup, but it probably won`t see much use. Thank you for quality products!! September 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bissell We have owned this vacuum for more than 15 years. The only main problem was the belt broke after one year. I called Bissell and they sent two replacement belts asap. We finally gave the vacuum away to someone that needed one more than we did. I just ordered this same vacuum and look forward to another 15 years of use from the new one, Lord willing. Just follow the directions and the product will perform. September 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by PowerForce Vacuum Recently purchased this vacuum and I love it's performance. Cleans carpet quickly and easily. Light weight compared to some I have used. The light weight is definitely a plus since I have problems with my back. My one complaint is that the hose tends to fall out of it's hook on the handle. It would be nice if the design was modified somewhat for a more secure fit for the hose. Overall I am totally impressed with this vacuum. Would recommend it to friends. September 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than most high end vacuums!! I have a cleaning business and bought the bissell for my own house. My clients vacuums would always do a terrible job and it always took longer for job to get done. started bringing my bissell to work and have not stopped since. Have purchased only the powerforce every time the vacuum breaks. Can always tell when it is starting to not work as well that its a clog due to the suction power, Its awesome!! Only issue i have is that i clean about 5 houses a day and needless to say there is a lot of vacuuming..the bissell always breaks in the same spot. the vacuum will eventually stop standing up by itself and the bottom part for the levels breaks eventually. maybe a manufacture problem?? but would not by any other besides the powerforce!!! August 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Easy to put together, runs and sucks dirt real good. Glad i bought it. Thanks Bissell! a new custom Mike August 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by none better Have bought one for each of my children, grandparents, and aunt. Light weight but great pickup. August 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bissell bag vs Bagless I have to agree with so many other reviewers that the BISSELL with the bag is better. My husband bought the bagless 7 years ago, and it still works great. BUT I hate to use it because I hate that dirt! Plus it is too heavy for me to use. It takes all my energy. So I decided to buy a light-weight vaccuum for myself. I didn't know until I got it home that it was also a BISSELL, but what a difference. It is a lighter weight, and has a nice place to grip to easily carry it. Once it is full it is so much nicer to remove a clean bag than it is to deal with all that dirt! It is actually a pleasure to use the bagless light weight BISSELL. August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bissell Cleans Better than my $700 Lindhaus Vacuum I am embarrassed to admit that this Bissell PowerForce Vacuum cleans better than my $700 Lindhaus Vacuum. I could cry, knowing I could've bought close to 18 Bissell Vacuums compared to my 1 Lindhaus Vacuum. Don't get me wrong the Lindhaus cleans pretty good, but, the Bissell cleans even better and here is why: Has the strongest suction I've ever seen on a Vacuum. Got so much dirt out of my medium length carpet, that my carpet felt soft and brand new again. My expensive Lindhaus didn't make it feel like that. Can clean a long shag rug, when no other vacuum has been able to. I no longer have to get on my hands and knees picking up all the stuff that my Lindhaus missed on the shag rug. Cleans a very short rug perfectly on the setting just above bare floor setting. It has 5 different height settings. You can't pull it back fast because you can tell it's cleaning so well. That is a sign of good suction. Doesn't make ugly lines in the carpet when vacuuming. Suction on the hose is GREAT. The hose isn't as short as the other reviewers say, it comes with a long extension part to add to make it longer & comes with a two in one dusting brush/upholstery tool (love the two in one, means less tools to get lost) and it has a crevice tool too. Tools also don't fall off the vacuum, they stay put. I actually prefer the shorter cord length, so you are not tripping over extra cord. It's just enough to do a medium sized room. There is also a spot toward the top of the vacuum that you can snap the cord into, so the cord is high enough you don't have to hold the cord or worry about vacuuming over the cord. Love that it is a vacuum that uses bags (no more messy dirt cups to empty). It comes with one bag. Open and make sure the bag is on though. Ours was sitting in there, but we had to attach the bag on it. Has the option of ordering special hypoallergenic bags or regular bags on the Bissell website 12 for $10 with free shipping. The filter on the side is one that you just rinse and let air dry. The lightest weight vacuum I've ever felt. So can be carried up or downstairs easily. August 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Second one for me but not as good as 1st For the price the PowerForce is a good vacuum. My old one I had for several years and was very pleased with it. Recently the upright latch broke so it was time for a new one. Since I was pleased with the PowerForce I bought another one. I was a bit disappointed though. The new one doesn't suck as well as the old one. Unfortunately I'd tossed the box and the old vacuum before using the new one so I can't exchange this one. Live and learn. July 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is one of the best BIssell has to offer yet! Hi, I've owned and used the Bissell PowerForce vacuum cleaner since it was first available to consumers. I knew Bissell had an excellent reputation for excellance so I puschased it. I love everything about this vacuum cleaner. It works perfectly in every way that you need for an excellent thorough cleaning of your carpets and floors too. I rate this the best vacuum for this price. It does what the other expensive vacuums do for a fraction of the cost. I love the Bissell PowerForce vacuum and will own one for the rest of my life! Sincerely! :) :) :) U.S.A. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bagged Vac User In my line of work at my job, I'll go through vacuum cleaners every year [easily] because of daily use cleaning an entire large building. After my last machine died a violent death (re: cord shorted out).. I was given a slightly used baggless Bissell to use. It works well - but since we are in a dusty enviroment, it is a pain to clean the cup and filter because it gets packed with very fine 'powdery' dust. Though to be fair I was never a fan of baggless anyway because of the dirty clean-up afterwards. So went shopping for a new bagged cleaner and saw Bissell's powerforce model. Decided to give this one a shot and works just as great as the baggless! Even if not better!! May 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great deal I purchased this vacuum to replace my old bagless. it was messy and too heavy. this one is so light and easy to use on a daily basis. love the fact that all i need to do is throw away the bag and insert another. NO MORE DUST IN THE FACE! Will never go back to bagless. Thank you bissell for a great inexpensive vacuum cleaner. May 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a tough vacuum I bought this product as my first vacuum when I moved out of my parents house. I knew nothing about vacuum maintenance so naturally the bristles were never cleaned, belts never replaced, and filters and bags were only changed/cleaned when it stopped working. Four years later I have my first clog. I bought this vacuum as my "starter vacuum" that I assumed would only last me a couple years. After clearing the clog and doing the maintenance that I should have been doing all along, I realize what a great product this really is. I'm sure many more expensive vacuums would be destroyed after the years of neglect I've put this one through. I highly recommend it and I will definitely be purchasing my steam cleaner from Bissell. May 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Light, and good I have a bad back. I must say this vacuum does exactly what I wanted it to do. Love the easy attachments too. Highly reccommend for anybody suffering from a bad back or other health problems. :) April 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't Let The PRICE FOOL YOU! I have a cleaning service, and this is the only vacuum I will use. It's lightweight,has on board attachments,and is powerful. You cannot ask for a better product. April 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Positive review The bissel products i ordered were top quality and arrived promptly an a value price April 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only vacuum I've ever liked! I bought a Bissell Powerforce after 30+ years hating another brand's canister vac. LOVED the Bissell but had to leave it behind when I moved. Bought a different brand in the new place--and hated it so even though it worked okay, I just purchased another Bissell to replace it. The Powerforce is lightweight, maneuverable, and it picks up cat hair, tracked litter and the remnants of shredded toys far better than any other vacuum I've owned. April 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Product I am about to buy a second Power Force Vacuum. I think for the money, one could not find a better vacuum! The negative comment one person made is so unfair. It's hard to believe they gave it much of a chance. April 11, 2012
<<< 2 3 4 5 6 >>>

Featured Products

$42.84*

  • Febreze® bags available!
  • Febreze® Bags Available!

    Eliminates Odors and Freshens as you vacuum

    3267.jpg17F9.jpg17F9-L-2.jpg

    bissell.com.jpg

    walmart.jpg

    Febreze and related trademarks are owned by The Procter & Gamble Company, Cincinnati, Ohio and used under license by BISSELL Homecare, Inc.

     

     

     

Loading...
Febreze-Filters-Maintenance_181x141
BOGO20_TriggerForm_FGsquare
Loading...

Price, promotions, styles and availability may vary by retail location and on other online sites. Retailers alone determine these factors.

Shipping & Handling


How much does shipping cost?

We offer free standard shipping on all orders over $30 on bissell.com! No coupon code is needed.

Here are rates for other order amounts and shipping methods:

  • Up to $4.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $3.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $8.99

  • $5 - $19.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $5.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $20 - $29.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $7.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $30 - $99.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $100 - $229.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $21.99

  • $230 and up order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $35.99

When will my order arrive?
After adding items to your shopping cart, you will able to choose from two shipping options: standard (5-7 business days) and expedited (3-5 business days). Next to each option is a delivery estimate date window, which will calculate dates including "business days" and determine when most shipments will arrive. 

 

How are estimated delivery dates calculated?

  • Most orders placed before 2pm ET on a business day process and ship on the same day. Business days count forward from there.
  • Most orders placed after 2pm ET or on weekends/holidays will process and ship the following business day. Business days count forward from there.

 

What are considered business days?
Business days include Monday–Friday and exclude holidays. Holidays in 2014 include: May 26, July 4, September 1, November 27, November 28, December 25, and December 26.

 

When will I receive my tracking number?
Tracking numbers are sent to you in an email about 24-48 hours after your order ships. This delay allows the shipment to be processed by the shipment carrier’s website. Your order should still arrive within the original estimated window.

The email will arrive with the subject, “Your BISSELL shipping confirmation”. You can also visit the View Your Order page anytime to find the latest status of your order, including its tracking number once it has shipped.

 

What carrier will be used to ship my order?
BISSELL uses multiple carriers to ship products. The carrier who ships your order is selected by our shipping department and depends on many factors including items purchased, delivery address, warehouse inventory levels, and more.

 

Will my entire order arrive in one shipment?
Multi-item orders may require shipments from multiple warehouse locations, so you may receive some items separately. Details for each shipment will be provided by email and will be available on the View Your Order page.

 

What about orders outside of the continental US?
Standard shipments to Alaska, Hawaii, Guam, Puerto Rico, American Samoa and Virgin Islands will arrive within 15 business days.

 

What about P.O. Boxes or Military Addresses?
If you have a P.O. Box, an APO or a military address, you will need to place your order over the phone by calling BISSELL Customer Care at 1-800-237-7691 during these hours:
Monday- Friday: 8am to 10pm ET
Saturdays: 9am to 8pm ET
Sundays: 10am to 7pm ET

 

What about Special "As Seen on TV" Offers?
The above information does not necessarily apply to special "As Seen on TV" offers.

Return Policy

BISSELL.com’s return policy is simple and convenient:

  • If you’re not completely satisfied with your purchase, return it for a replacement or full refund within 30 days of the delivery date.*
  • You can arrange for at-home pick-up of your return
  • Pay just $4.95 in return shipping
*For safety reasons, cleaning formula purchases cannot be returned or refunded.

Return Instructions:

  1. Pack all items (including all accessories and manuals) securely and include the packaging list that was sent with the order.
  2. Attach the return address label on the outside of the package being returned. A $4.95 return shipping fee will be deducted from your bill.
  3. Take the package to an authorized ship center, or if you would like to schedule a pick-up call the FedEx Return Program at (888) 777-6040.

Refund Information:

Once we receive the merchandise, it will be inspected to make sure it meets quality standards. BISSELL Inc. reserves the right to deny refund for returned merchandise which appears to be excessively used or abused.

The refund will be issued in either check or credit format based on the original purchase once the return has been processed at our facility. It can take up to 4 weeks for your refund to be processed. Note that the original shipping and handling costs will not be refunded.

If you are out of the 30 day window for returns, refer to the warranty policy in your user's guide.

Return mailing address:

BISSELL Homecare, Inc.
5700 S International Pkwy
Suite B
McAllen TX 78503

Earn Rewards

Join the We Mean Clean Rewards program and you can earn points toward exclusive discounts. You’ll earn points when you register BISSELL products, make online purchases, and participate in special events and online activities. Signing up also means you can keep track of purchases and easily reorder replacement items (filters, mop pads) – and you’ll get expedited customer service!

Be sure to create an account during the checkout process to get the points for your purchase right away. Or, sign up now.

Rewards Tier Table

Where To Buy

Color & features may vary by retailer.

Find a local retailer:

Enter your zip code to find at a store near you.
Loading...

Price, promotions, styles and availability may vary by retail location and on other online sites. Retailers alone determine these factors.

Located on the white label above, usually on the back of the machine.
Close

Sign up for BISSELL Emails!

Get expert advice, time-saving tips & special offers.

New Subscriber? Sign up and receive 10% off your next bissell.com purchase!

Sign Up

It looks like that is an improperly formatted email address. Please try again.
Close

Thank You For Signing Up!

Check your inbox for expert advice, time-saving
tips & special offers.

Home to a Deeper Clean
Loading
Loading

Exclusive Offer for Email Subscribers! learn more

Signup

get free shipping on any order over $30!Learn More »