PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398

$42.84*

  • Febreze® bags available!
  • Febreze® Bags Available!

    Eliminates Odors and Freshens as you vacuum

    3267.jpg17F9.jpg17F9-L-2.jpg

    bissell.com.jpg

    walmart.jpg

    Febreze and related trademarks are owned by The Procter & Gamble Company, Cincinnati, Ohio and used under license by BISSELL Homecare, Inc.

     

     

     

Loading...

PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398

PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398
Video And Image Gallery

Premium Allergen Filtration

The BISSELL PowerForce® offers the best of both worlds with a bagged vacuum. While vacuuming, feel at ease knowing you are filtering allergens and eliminating household malodors all at once!

  • Powerful Suction - great performance for an all around clean
  • Versatile Convenience with on-board tools and lightweight design
  • Febreze Bag eliminates odors and freshens as you vacuum
  • Multi-Level Filtration
  • Stretch hose provides extra reach

The advantages of a bagged vacuum
The PowerForce® Vacuum is one of the few BISSELL upright vacuums that is bagged instead of bagless. Using a bagged vacuum means you won’t have to make as much contact with the dirt and debris collected by your vacuum since it all stays enclosed inside the bag. If you don’t like cleaning out a dirt cup and don’t mind purchasing replacement bags, a bagged vacuum may be right for you.

  • Main Information

    Product Title:PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398
    Model #:1398
    Similar Models:71Y7, 71Y71, 71Y72, 71Y73, 71Y7R, 71Y7V, 71Y7W, 71Y7Y
    Quantity:1
    List Price:$42.84
    Rewards Points:43
    Warranty:1 year limited
  • Special Features

    Premium Allergen Filtration
    • Powerful Suction - great performance for an all around clean
    • Versatile Convenience with on-board tools and lightweight design
    • Febreze Bag eliminates odors and freshens as you vacuum
    • Multi-Level Filtration
    • Stretch hose provides extra reach
    Help
    Microban® Protection - Microban® antimicrobial product protection is built in to products during manufacturing to help provide continuous protection from microscopic organisms that can cause stains, odors and deterioration.
    Microban® Protection:
    No
    Surface Type:Carpet, Upholstery
    Power Rating:10 Amps
    Heater:No
    Filtration:Multi-Level Filtration
    Cleaning Path Width:13.5"
    Weight:12 lbs
  • Power

    Power Rating:10 Amps
    Power Source:Corded
    Heater:No
    Help
    Air Flow Indicator - Shows you when the air flow in your vacuum has been disrupted so you know when there is a clog.
    Air Flow Indicator:
    No
    Brush System:Rotating
    Brush On/Off Switch:No
    Power Cord Length:23'
    Automatic Cord Rewind:No
  • Filtration

    Filtration:Multi-Level Filtration
    Clean Filter Indicator:No
  • Dirt Collection

    Surface Type:Carpet, Upholstery
    Cleaning Path Width:13.5"
    Surface Height Settings:5
    Help
    Dual Edge Cleaning - Additional brushes and suction on the sides of the cleaning path – great for cleaning along baseboards.
    Dual Edge Cleaning:
    Yes
    Bag Type:Bagged
    Easy Empty™ Dirt Cup:No
    Dirt Sensor:No
  • Specialty Tools

    Multi-Use Tools:Crevice Tool, Combination Dusting Brush/Upholstery Tool
    Reach Extension Tools:Extension Wand
  • Other Specs

    Color:Black
    Carry Handle:Yes
    Headlight:No
    Soft Bumper:Yes
    Belt Type:Style 7/9/10/12/14/16 Replacement Belt

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 144 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful I am very pleased with my machine. I was skeptical at first because the price was very low but as soon as I used it the power was amazing. It picks up everything. I threw some paper on my rug from the shredder & couldn't believe my eyes how fast it picked it. Very pleased. June 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by powerforce vacuum While I have purchased other Bissell products (a shampooer and a bagless vacuum) I had never tried this cheaper model. Purhased it for a small condo and it is great! It has good suction and is not too heavy. Only thing I did not like was the febreze packet on the bag. Did not activate it tho, because I have asthma and do not add any scents to my living area. But your website offers bags without the scent, so no problem. June 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some nice improvements, BUT...... We've used the cheap Bissell for years, this being our third one. This is clearly an update of the earlier model we bought at Wal-Mart in the past for about the same price. They've all worked well until they were just worn out. This latest model has one huge improvement over the model it replaced, the design and quality of the suction hose. HOWEVER, there is one HUGE issue with this model. NO HEADLIGHT!!!! What were the designers thinking? This is a deal buster for me. Every upright needs a light. Come on Bissell, charge an extra buck and put the light back. June 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Back to the Bags so far it is doing what we need vacuumed. not really that impressed with the suction and its not clogged but wait we did take a step back into the past with it not being bagless. May 31, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Didnt last long. I have bought this type of vacuum for years and always had good luck with it. 3 months ago I bought this one from walmart, didnt keep the receipt, and it wont pick up anymore. I checked the belt and for clogs but its just broke. Walmart will not take it back because I dont have the receipt so now I have to put out more money for another vacuum. Im not sure, I may try a different brand this time. May 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good dependable vacuum . . .but The last Powerforce vacuum lasted us for years of dependable service until it just got worn out. The obvious choice was to get another one. We bought another one and it looks exactly the same with one exeption, the headlight is not on these vacuums anymore. It was a nice feature to help light the path as your vacuuming. Is this a cost cutting measure, Bissell? That is a feature every house vacuum should have. Bad move, Bissell. May 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beware I liked this vac. It is light weight and has powerful suction. After using it for about three years, I noticed black streaks on my light colored carpet. The black on the wheels have stained the carpet and I can't get it off. April 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ideal Vacuum - great value Great vacuum, great price. It does the job well in a small house occupied by me and a German Short Haired who sheds. A definite plus is not having to take it apart to clean the filters. It's also lighter and easier to use, making vacuuming a pleasure again. April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only one I buy I have used many types from stick broom to the Kirby and the rainbow and everything in the middle I have bought 2 of these and I am now buying my 3rd one I ware them some them give them away to my family because most of my family can not left the heavy vacs but these are light weight and it is easy on them you will not go wrong buying this vac. yours truley Danny A. April 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK, for what it is I have bought PowerForce Vacuums for years. When my last one bit the dust, I opted to buy a more expensive(heavy)Fuller vacuum. It's great, but I needed something I didn't have to haul upstairs everytime I finished sewing or needed a quick clean up. I bought a new PowerForce(at Wal-Mart# for upstairs. The first time I used it, the hose kept popping off the intake connection. I typed to the company, sent pictures and they sent me a new hose. It is working fine now. I do have to say, until I had the Fuller, I was satisfied with the PowerForce for all my cleaning#I have a cat and a husband). But now, it's only good as an occasional back up. It is what it is. April 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW This is possibly the best vacuum engineered. It is such a simple design, yet the cleaning perfornmance is outstanding. The only I did not like, was the filters, but I replaced them with an Arm and Hammer HEPA like filter. It has superior suction power, and works great on pet hair. I also own a $560 Oreck XL2 Ultra vacuum and the Bissell works better. March 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best I have Ever Used This vacuum is by far the best I have ever used in my life. I Had 3 Cats and # dogs to clean up after and with this vacuum i have not ever had a problem where it has never cleaned and left hair behind. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone and I even bought my mother one to replace her 12 year old vacuum and she loves it as well March 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by PowerForce Vacuum I love this vacuum. It is smooth across the carpet and not as loud as the others in the past. Since I purchased the PowerForce vacuum, I thought it would be like other vacuums in the past but no, it is ten times better and I would definitely recommend this product or any Bissell vacuum to anyone. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just purchased 2nd vacuum today!!! I LOVE this vac! Great on stairs with tough pet hair too. the only problem with this newer version is that the detachable hose comes off while I'm vacuuming and I have to stop to put it back in. My old model held in better and didn't come off. I still absolutely love this vacuum. works great and for the price, can't be beat. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by More power than I expected for the price! I needed a bagged vacuum because emptying my bag-less would put me in respiratory distress (dust sensitivity). After extensive research, I chose the Bissell PowerForce based on customer reviews. Being low income, I was also pleased that I could afford it right away without having to "save up" to make the purchase. I bought it today, read the manual, put it together (easy), and used it immediately. I was amazed at how swiftly it cleaned my neglected house, without causing me any breathing difficulties! I ordered the Universal Pet Tools set to compliment this fine machine, as I have 6 cats for roomies, and the "rubber teeth" pull embedded pet hair from upholstery better than standard attachments. March 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the machine expect the handle I have had 3 machines and my Mom 1, love the lightness and it picks up everything...one problem, after a few months the handle with not stay up. Slow downs my cleaning time and I use it to clean part of my apt. building. What can I do, the hardware store in my town charges a arm and leg to fix. Thanks March 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I almost want to stock up on these! I cannot say enough about this simple low cost vacuum cleaner. I see that the reviews for this are mostly great. Believe them! I have two of them and intend to get one each for my daughter and my sister. This is a fantastic value for the price. Go get one now, hurry up! March 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Vacuum Ever I have purchased many Vacuum's over the years and have not been able to find one that was worth keeping. My new PowerFource vacuum is the BEST. It is very easy to use and works great on my carpet and floors. I also like the fact that it uses the traditional vacuum bag. I have had so much trouble with the new vacuums that have the removable container. I LOVE my BISSELL!! February 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Clogs way to quickly I have had this vacuum cleaner for 6 months and it has clogged too many times to count. Do not buy if you have a pet! February 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by defect The vacuum is an excellent purchase It however seems to have a small defect The roller assembly retainer pins break to easily Have to order replacement piece to often February 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A break through in the art of vacuuming. Without a doubt the number one in simple vacuum cleaners. Light weight, strong suction and easy to use for everyone. What more could you want. The price is right and bags (easy removal) as well as simple parts are down right inexpensive yet retain very high quality. I now have three of them. One for each floor of my home. Keep it simple for the best in keeping your home clean with little effort.......Buy one (or more) now!! February 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product!! For a cheap vacuum works great!! Love the new febreze bags!! Leaves a good scent! January 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Product! I just moved into an Apartment and needed an vacuum. After one use the bag was half full. Even though the Apartment Complex used a vacuum to clean this Apartment, the Bissel PowerForce did a much better job. I rely on Bissel because I have a Disabled Child who spends a lot of time crawling on the floor. The carpet HAS to be clean. I have used other companies vacuums but they do not come close to Bissel. January 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Vacuum for a great price! I have a commercial cleaning company for 8 years and this vacuum is all that I have ever used. I've gone through 3 in these past 8 years, considering I use it day in and day out on the worst of jobs and it never let's me down. Part's are reasonable, the bags are reasonable and it's a excellent vacuum for the money. I recommend it to everyone. January 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT VACUUM FOR THE PRICE This is a great value for the money, less than $45 and it does an amazing job and so lightweight!!!! It's a keeper for me. I paid double for a top named "E" bagless vacuum that did a lousy job so I took it back in a hurry January 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by powerforce is great but needs some refinement new stretch transparent hose is an improvemnt, needs a notch at bottom and dimple to attach to inlet securely, also better method to secure to body of vacuum as the force fit is either loose or tight , creating problems , strap ,snap button or velcro, for my purpose in an apt. weight , suction and width are perfect --. plastic parts fit together and are solid , can not say that about most cleaners, raise the price and improve. January 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Going to return this product I have had this product for less than a month, I am planning on returning it, because it is very loud is already making a horrible noise when it is shut off. The extension for using the tools is too long and is really hard to use on couches. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Vacuum! I've had this vacuum a little over 6 months now, and its worked great! I hadnt owned a Bissell before, and I was looking for a moderately priced bagged upright for less than $100, with cleaning attachments/tools. The Bissell Powerforce was the least expensive available. At less than $40 new, it was right in my preferred price range. I sprinkle carpet freshener on rugs before vacuuming, and the Bissell sucks it and any dust bunnies right up. It works great on both carpet and vinyl. Dont let its price fool you; this vacuum gets the job done, and does it well! Bag removal/replacement is easy. When not in use, the vacuum will fit into a closet or a corner, standing out of the way but ready for use - just plug in and go. The only additional features I could wish for are a headlight, and for the power cord to come out of the left side of the unit, but the lack of those don't affect the quality of the vacuum - they are just personal preferences. I lent it to my mom who had a really old metal canister vacuum, and she loved this Bissell so much, Im going to get her one. This vacuum is just what you want and need in a vacuum: quality, dependability, and ease of use, all in a well-priced vacuum that you don't need to take out a loan to buy! Thank you, Bissell! :) December 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tough to beat for the price! Over the years, we had a few of the big-dollar "amazing" vacuums and they all broke in a short amount of time and the warranties were a joke. So I decided to get the simplest, least expensive vacuum the store had. Our thought was if we get a year or two out of it and it breaks, we chuck it and get a new one. It was 5 years ago we bought our PowerForce and it is still working like a top!!! We built a new house a little over a year ago, and we bought another Powerforce for the downstairs, and keep our original PowerForce in the upstairs closet to do the bedrooms and hallway!!!! We love it! December 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blown away AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING! Okay, I know all caps is a turn off for some people, but this vacuum warrants them. This vacuum is powerful, very lightweight, built amazingly well, and get this, it's BAGGED! That may turn off some people at first, it certainly did me, but after 4 months of use now I can confirm that I'm never using a bagless vacuum again. It sucks up the dirt and keeps it sealed in. The HEPA filter on the side has no dust in or around it (visible at least). My old bagless unit's HEPA compartment would get all dusty after a couple weeks use, and you'd have to practically take apart the whole machine and clean it. Not this one! Also, I'd like to mention that the Febreeze bags are awesome. They actually have a nice scent, and they last! I change my bag about once a month, and the scent has always lasted through the bag change. What else... I think that's it for now. Don't let the low price fool you, it's amazing. I definitely recommend it! December 9, 2012
<<< 2 3 4 5 6 >>>

Featured Products

$42.84*

  • Febreze® bags available!
  • Febreze® Bags Available!

    Eliminates Odors and Freshens as you vacuum

    3267.jpg17F9.jpg17F9-L-2.jpg

    bissell.com.jpg

    walmart.jpg

    Febreze and related trademarks are owned by The Procter & Gamble Company, Cincinnati, Ohio and used under license by BISSELL Homecare, Inc.

     

     

     

Loading...
Febreze-Filters-Maintenance_181x141
BOGO20_TriggerForm_FGsquare
Loading...

Price, promotions, styles and availability may vary by retail location and on other online sites. Retailers alone determine these factors.

Shipping & Handling


How much does shipping cost?

We offer free standard shipping on all orders over $30 on bissell.com! No coupon code is needed.

Here are rates for other order amounts and shipping methods:

  • Up to $4.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $3.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $8.99

  • $5 - $19.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $5.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $20 - $29.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $7.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $30 - $99.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $100 - $229.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $21.99

  • $230 and up order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $35.99

When will my order arrive?
After adding items to your shopping cart, you will able to choose from two shipping options: standard (5-7 business days) and expedited (3-5 business days). Next to each option is a delivery estimate date window, which will calculate dates including "business days" and determine when most shipments will arrive. 

 

How are estimated delivery dates calculated?

  • Most orders placed before 2pm ET on a business day process and ship on the same day. Business days count forward from there.
  • Most orders placed after 2pm ET or on weekends/holidays will process and ship the following business day. Business days count forward from there.

 

What are considered business days?
Business days include Monday–Friday and exclude holidays. Holidays in 2014 include: May 26, July 4, September 1, November 27, November 28, December 25, and December 26.

 

When will I receive my tracking number?
Tracking numbers are sent to you in an email about 24-48 hours after your order ships. This delay allows the shipment to be processed by the shipment carrier’s website. Your order should still arrive within the original estimated window.

The email will arrive with the subject, “Your BISSELL shipping confirmation”. You can also visit the View Your Order page anytime to find the latest status of your order, including its tracking number once it has shipped.

 

What carrier will be used to ship my order?
BISSELL uses multiple carriers to ship products. The carrier who ships your order is selected by our shipping department and depends on many factors including items purchased, delivery address, warehouse inventory levels, and more.

 

Will my entire order arrive in one shipment?
Multi-item orders may require shipments from multiple warehouse locations, so you may receive some items separately. Details for each shipment will be provided by email and will be available on the View Your Order page.

 

What about orders outside of the continental US?
Standard shipments to Alaska, Hawaii, Guam, Puerto Rico, American Samoa and Virgin Islands will arrive within 15 business days.

 

What about P.O. Boxes or Military Addresses?
If you have a P.O. Box, an APO or a military address, you will need to place your order over the phone by calling BISSELL Customer Care at 1-800-237-7691 during these hours:
Monday- Friday: 8am to 10pm ET
Saturdays: 9am to 8pm ET
Sundays: 10am to 7pm ET

 

What about Special "As Seen on TV" Offers?
The above information does not necessarily apply to special "As Seen on TV" offers.

Return Policy

BISSELL.com’s return policy is simple and convenient:

  • If you’re not completely satisfied with your purchase, return it for a replacement or full refund within 30 days of the delivery date.*
  • You can arrange for at-home pick-up of your return
  • Pay just $4.95 in return shipping
*For safety reasons, cleaning formula purchases cannot be returned or refunded.

Return Instructions:

  1. Pack all items (including all accessories and manuals) securely and include the packaging list that was sent with the order.
  2. Attach the return address label on the outside of the package being returned. A $4.95 return shipping fee will be deducted from your bill.
  3. Take the package to an authorized ship center, or if you would like to schedule a pick-up call the FedEx Return Program at (888) 777-6040.

Refund Information:

Once we receive the merchandise, it will be inspected to make sure it meets quality standards. BISSELL Inc. reserves the right to deny refund for returned merchandise which appears to be excessively used or abused.

The refund will be issued in either check or credit format based on the original purchase once the return has been processed at our facility. It can take up to 4 weeks for your refund to be processed. Note that the original shipping and handling costs will not be refunded.

If you are out of the 30 day window for returns, refer to the warranty policy in your user's guide.

Return mailing address:

BISSELL Homecare, Inc.
5700 S International Pkwy
Suite B
McAllen TX 78503

Earn Rewards

Join the We Mean Clean Rewards program and you can earn points toward exclusive discounts. You’ll earn points when you register BISSELL products, make online purchases, and participate in special events and online activities. Signing up also means you can keep track of purchases and easily reorder replacement items (filters, mop pads) – and you’ll get expedited customer service!

Be sure to create an account during the checkout process to get the points for your purchase right away. Or, sign up now.

Rewards Tier Table

Where To Buy

Color & features may vary by retailer.

Find a local retailer:

Enter your zip code to find at a store near you.
Loading...

Price, promotions, styles and availability may vary by retail location and on other online sites. Retailers alone determine these factors.

Located on the white label above, usually on the back of the machine.
Close

Sign up for BISSELL Emails!

Get expert advice, time-saving tips & special offers.

New Subscriber? Sign up and receive 10% off your next bissell.com purchase!

Sign Up

It looks like that is an improperly formatted email address. Please try again.
Close

Thank You For Signing Up!

Check your inbox for expert advice, time-saving
tips & special offers.

Home to a Deeper Clean
Loading
Loading

Exclusive Offer for Email Subscribers! learn more

Signup

get free shipping on any order over $30!Learn More »