Exclusive Offer for Email Subscribers! learn more

Signup

get free shipping on any order over $30!Learn More »

PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398

$42.84*

  • Febreze® bags available!
  • Febreze® Bags Available!

    Eliminates Odors and Freshens as you vacuum

    3267.jpg17F9.jpg17F9-L-2.jpg

    bissell.com.jpg

    walmart.jpg

    Febreze and related trademarks are owned by The Procter & Gamble Company, Cincinnati, Ohio and used under license by BISSELL Homecare, Inc.

     

     

     

Loading...

PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398

PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398
Video And Image Gallery

Premium Allergen Filtration

The BISSELL PowerForce® offers the best of both worlds with a bagged vacuum. While vacuuming, feel at ease knowing you are filtering allergens and eliminating household malodors all at once!

  • Powerful Suction - great performance for an all around clean
  • Versatile Convenience with on-board tools and lightweight design
  • Febreze Bag eliminates odors and freshens as you vacuum
  • Multi-Level Filtration
  • Stretch hose provides extra reach

The advantages of a bagged vacuum
The PowerForce® Vacuum is one of the few BISSELL upright vacuums that is bagged instead of bagless. Using a bagged vacuum means you won’t have to make as much contact with the dirt and debris collected by your vacuum since it all stays enclosed inside the bag. If you don’t like cleaning out a dirt cup and don’t mind purchasing replacement bags, a bagged vacuum may be right for you.

  • Main Information

    Product Title:PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398
    Model #:1398
    Similar Models:71Y7, 71Y71, 71Y72, 71Y73, 71Y7R, 71Y7V, 71Y7W, 71Y7Y
    Quantity:1
    List Price:$42.84
    Rewards Points:43
    Warranty:1 year limited
  • Special Features

    Premium Allergen Filtration
    • Powerful Suction - great performance for an all around clean
    • Versatile Convenience with on-board tools and lightweight design
    • Febreze Bag eliminates odors and freshens as you vacuum
    • Multi-Level Filtration
    • Stretch hose provides extra reach
    Help
    Microban® Protection - Microban® antimicrobial product protection is built in to products during manufacturing to help provide continuous protection from microscopic organisms that can cause stains, odors and deterioration.
    Microban® Protection:
    No
    Surface Type:Carpet, Upholstery
    Power Rating:10 Amps
    Heater:No
    Filtration:Multi-Level Filtration
    Cleaning Path Width:13.5"
    Weight:12 lbs
  • Power

    Power Rating:10 Amps
    Power Source:Corded
    Heater:No
    Help
    Air Flow Indicator - Shows you when the air flow in your vacuum has been disrupted so you know when there is a clog.
    Air Flow Indicator:
    No
    Brush System:Rotating
    Brush On/Off Switch:No
    Power Cord Length:23'
    Automatic Cord Rewind:No
  • Filtration

    Filtration:Multi-Level Filtration
    Clean Filter Indicator:No
  • Dirt Collection

    Surface Type:Carpet, Upholstery
    Cleaning Path Width:13.5"
    Surface Height Settings:5
    Help
    Dual Edge Cleaning - Additional brushes and suction on the sides of the cleaning path – great for cleaning along baseboards.
    Dual Edge Cleaning:
    Yes
    Bag Type:Bagged
    Easy Empty™ Dirt Cup:No
    Dirt Sensor:No
  • Specialty Tools

    Multi-Use Tools:Crevice Tool, Combination Dusting Brush/Upholstery Tool
    Reach Extension Tools:Extension Wand
  • Other Specs

    Color:Black
    Carry Handle:Yes
    Headlight:No
    Soft Bumper:Yes
    Belt Type:Style 7/9/10/12/14/16 Replacement Belt

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 141 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great vac I just bought this at Walmart today. I am replacing the older version of it. I had my old Bissell for 7 years and it worked great. My only complaint so far is that the amps were not listed on the box nor is it listed in the guide that came with the vac. I had to call Bissell to find out this info. I did find out that it is a 10 amp. My old one was a 12 amp. I hope it has the same great suction. I am not sure how much a 2 amp different makes but I will find out soon. Also, this was the only vac at the store that had a bag. All the others vacs were bagless which I do not like. September 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well done lightweight There isn't anything to not like about this vacuum. I especially like the fact that it has a bag. The bag system is easier and much more sanitary than bagless models. And, just try and find a new one that has a bag; they are hard to come by. Well done Bissell! September 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by PowerForce Bagged Vacuum 71Y7V Dare you find another Vacuum that is better than the 71Y7V Model. This Vacuum has more cleaning power than many of the much more expensive models. It's light weight, easy to use, and no problem trying to empty the dirt container and having dirt fly back into your cleaned area. Just replace the bag when full. Futhermore, and just as important, my back doesn't hurt after cleaning with the PowerForce Bagged Vacuum. September 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent vacuum I am sure this inexpensive vacuum will not last as long as my Kirby (going on 30+ years now). However, it pulls dirt very well, it is light weight, not too loud. So, I'll keep using it until the motor burns out or the brush roller bearings seize up. Until then, it is a pleasure using this vacuum, and for the $40+ price, what the heck - I'll recommend this vacuum to anyone. September 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite model!!! I enjoyed a similar machine for seven years from Bissell. I shopped around town and found an updated model at my local Walmart. I am already enjoying the flexible hose when I clean the stairs. I miss the light in the front....but I like the addition of the scented Fabreze bags! Keep up the great work! September 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still don't have quite right Against my wishes, my husband bought yet another Bissell upright. They have a slight improvement over the older models, in my opinion. The cord is now a reasonable length, but I like long cords so I don't have to plug & unplug so many times to get from one room to another. They are working on a better hose, but still haven't gotten it quite right. The hose is not as stiff as the older models, which is good - BUT - for the weight of the machine, any slight pull on the hose attached to the cleaning tools, and you have a rear end attack every time, unless it just falls over. The suction is still a plus and the price. September 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bissell PowerForce I bought this a week ago, after my Hoover Windtunnel lost the self propel feature. I like the lightweight Bissell and I prefer a bagged vaccuum. My only issue at this time is that the hose for the attachments tends to pop off pretty easily while I am vaccuuming the floor. August 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Physically looks great. Suction is poor. Physically I think the vacuum looks great. I like the new Febreeze bags that you can buy for it. I like the clear tube and small wand head. I feel the suction is great when using the wand but as far as vacuuming the floors I don't think it sucks well. I have had several of these Bissell uprights over the last 8 years or so and compared to them it just doesn't feel like the floor gets clean. I always go back to the Bissell uprights because of the price, style and accessories. Those qualities fit my needs great. This recent Bissell I've purchased doesn't compare to the Bissell vacuums I've had in the past in regards to overall cleaning power. For now, I guess it will have to do! August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Powerful Vacuum at a Budget Price This is probably the first time I haven't minded vacuuming thanks to the Febreze scent that jumps out every time I do. It does it's job, is easy and cheap to maintain and compact enough to fit in my tiny broom closet. I love it! August 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good light weight vacuum Bought this vacuum as a backup for light day sweeping. Needed something light weight as I have back problems. It is light weight to pickup but if not adjusted right on height level on carpet it can be hard to push. When adjusted right it does a good job of picking up and since we have a cat it needs to pick up cat hair. It does make a little more noise than I like but since I only have to use it a short time it really doesn't matter. If someone was looking for a light weight vacuum that does a good job of picking up I would recommend this one. August 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprised by My First Bissell Was looking for an inexpensive, lightweight, bagged cleaner (I, too, was sick of the bagged ones) and stumbled upon this one at Walmart. It works perfectly (except for some noisiness), and I like the height adjustment knob. So far, so good...it cleans just fine! August 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This vacuum is my second Bissell, and I love it and wouldn't want being without it when doing my cleaning chores. The suction power is great and I like having a bagged vacuum since the bagless ones just distribute the dirt. Hope that this one will last as long as my previous one did, about six years. Good product. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product i bought this product a few years ago,and now i have bought another one.i gave my old one to a family member.this is a really great product. July 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware I purchased without doing all my research. This does use bags. Now I have to add to my continues hope that my local store carries these bags. Also you will need a long handled Phillips screw drive do place the one screw. The bag need replacing quiet quickly because it is small. It is light weight, good for moving but not stable while in use with hose. July 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great vacuum!great price I loved this vacuum so much that I bought a second one for upstairs. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy This vacuum has good cleaning power for carpets and hardwood floors. It is easy to use and takes little space to store. I find it much easier to use than my canister vacuum and it does not seem to bother my back as much. A great vacuum for a great price! July 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and effective Good value; works great; good suction; easy to get parts and filters for it. July 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Am really surprised by this vacuum I am loving the new design of this vacuum. It is bagged vacuum which I do really like. The suction is excellent. I needed a light weight vacuum because I can no longer push and pull 20 pound vacuum . This fit my idea of a vacuum to a tee. Am very pleased with the vacuum so far. I have only had the vacuum for a week but I find it to a good match for my needs. Lightweight, good suction pick up and BAGGED vacuum. July 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I opt for only the best! This is my third Bissell Vacuum. I bought one for my mom and two for myself back in 2003 and recently. The only reason why I had to replace mines is because while cleaning after moving to another home, a family member was forcing items to be vacuumed and therefore she blew out the motor/belt on my...yes 10 year vac. It was probably time for a new one anyway, but prior to someone else's carelessness, my Bissell was working just fine. Never had any problems none whatsoever! In my humble opinion know other vacuum can compare! July 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wow. light, powerful, & has bag i bought this product because i wanted a light vacuum with a bag. not too many companies make this & are way more expensive. was i surprised about how powerful it was. sure beats my old, heavy & expensive one by miles. will buy another one for downstairs. love the febreeze bag. it is a bit noisy & doesn't have a light, but overall it's wonderful. July 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Started out great; didn't last long. My vacuum won't even switch on anymore. We only have carpets in our bedrooms and have only used this vacuum two or three times. While I was using it one day, I stopped it to help my daughter with something and went to finish and it's completely dead; flip the switch and nothing, like it's not plugged in at all. At first I thought maybe it overheated, although I had never heard of a vacuum doing that, nor had I been running it long, but a week later I try it and still nothing. Am currently searching for reasons to the problem in hopes of finding an answer other than buying a new vacuum. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great vacuum Was skeptical at first. How well could a low cost vacuum work? I was pleasantly surprised at this machine, It is very easy to maneuver and the suction is great. I also love that it is bagged. Too many issues with bagless vacuums. I would highly recommend this to any one shopping for a bagged vacuum cleaner. On board storage of attachments is also good. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the money I purchase this vacuum a few weeks ago and it get the job done. My 7 year old grandson is responsible for vacuuming and he enjoys the way he can maneuver the Bisell PowerForce through the house. June 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by can't beat the price Purchased this vacuum a week ago and was amazed at the quality for the money. I haven't had it long so I can't speak to the longevity (if it only lasts a year or two I'll be happy for $50!) I purposefully chose this one BECAUSE of the bag. Bagless vacs are simply gross, I've had one and now am back to a bagged model. For one, I do not want to see whats collected and two trying to empty it in the trash while holding my breath to get all the lets just say 'dust' in the trash is impossible. June 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Carpets & Rugs I bought this product because i wanted a light weight and bagged vacuum. I used it and was amazed how well it cleaned the carpet. It was very easy to use and i now loved to vacuum when before i hated to think about doing it. Thank you Bissell for a wonderful product. June 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value It does a great job for the money I spent on it. Best choice for anyone who doesn't have kids and lives in an apartment. No need to look anywhere else. June 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing just bought this product, used it on my thick area rug for our living room, it works amazing. The suction is strong and picks up tough dog hair, Works great on our couch and pick up the dog hair easily. Love it so far. Bags are cheap. June 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful I am very pleased with my machine. I was skeptical at first because the price was very low but as soon as I used it the power was amazing. It picks up everything. I threw some paper on my rug from the shredder & couldn't believe my eyes how fast it picked it. Very pleased. June 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by powerforce vacuum While I have purchased other Bissell products (a shampooer and a bagless vacuum) I had never tried this cheaper model. Purhased it for a small condo and it is great! It has good suction and is not too heavy. Only thing I did not like was the febreze packet on the bag. Did not activate it tho, because I have asthma and do not add any scents to my living area. But your website offers bags without the scent, so no problem. June 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some nice improvements, BUT...... We've used the cheap Bissell for years, this being our third one. This is clearly an update of the earlier model we bought at Wal-Mart in the past for about the same price. They've all worked well until they were just worn out. This latest model has one huge improvement over the model it replaced, the design and quality of the suction hose. HOWEVER, there is one HUGE issue with this model. NO HEADLIGHT!!!! What were the designers thinking? This is a deal buster for me. Every upright needs a light. Come on Bissell, charge an extra buck and put the light back. June 2, 2013
<<< 2 3 4 5 6 >>>

Featured Products

$42.84*

  • Febreze® bags available!
  • Febreze® Bags Available!

    Eliminates Odors and Freshens as you vacuum

    3267.jpg17F9.jpg17F9-L-2.jpg

    bissell.com.jpg

    walmart.jpg

    Febreze and related trademarks are owned by The Procter & Gamble Company, Cincinnati, Ohio and used under license by BISSELL Homecare, Inc.

     

     

     

Loading...
Febreze-Filters-Maintenance_181x141
BOGO20_TriggerForm_FGsquare
Loading...

Price, promotions, styles and availability may vary by retail location and on other online sites. Retailers alone determine these factors.

Shipping & Handling


How much does shipping cost?

We offer free standard shipping on all orders over $30 on bissell.com! No coupon code is needed.

Here are rates for other order amounts and shipping methods:

  • Up to $4.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $3.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $8.99

  • $5 - $19.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $5.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $20 - $29.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $7.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $30 - $99.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $100 - $229.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $21.99

  • $230 and up order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $35.99

When will my order arrive?
After adding items to your shopping cart, you will able to choose from two shipping options: standard (5-7 business days) and expedited (3-5 business days). Next to each option is a delivery estimate date window, which will calculate dates including "business days" and determine when most shipments will arrive. 

 

How are estimated delivery dates calculated?

  • Most orders placed before 2pm ET on a business day process and ship on the same day. Business days count forward from there.
  • Most orders placed after 2pm ET or on weekends/holidays will process and ship the following business day. Business days count forward from there.

 

What are considered business days?
Business days include Monday–Friday and exclude holidays. Holidays in 2014 include: May 26, July 4, September 1, November 27, November 28, December 25, and December 26.

 

When will I receive my tracking number?
Tracking numbers are sent to you in an email about 24-48 hours after your order ships. This delay allows the shipment to be processed by the shipment carrier’s website. Your order should still arrive within the original estimated window.

The email will arrive with the subject, “Your BISSELL shipping confirmation”. You can also visit the View Your Order page anytime to find the latest status of your order, including its tracking number once it has shipped.

 

What carrier will be used to ship my order?
BISSELL uses multiple carriers to ship products. The carrier who ships your order is selected by our shipping department and depends on many factors including items purchased, delivery address, warehouse inventory levels, and more.

 

Will my entire order arrive in one shipment?
Multi-item orders may require shipments from multiple warehouse locations, so you may receive some items separately. Details for each shipment will be provided by email and will be available on the View Your Order page.

 

What about orders outside of the continental US?
Standard shipments to Alaska, Hawaii, Guam, Puerto Rico, American Samoa and Virgin Islands will arrive within 15 business days.

 

What about P.O. Boxes or Military Addresses?
If you have a P.O. Box, an APO or a military address, you will need to place your order over the phone by calling BISSELL Customer Care at 1-800-237-7691 during these hours:
Monday- Friday: 8am to 10pm ET
Saturdays: 9am to 8pm ET
Sundays: 10am to 7pm ET

 

What about Special "As Seen on TV" Offers?
The above information does not necessarily apply to special "As Seen on TV" offers.

Return Policy

BISSELL.com’s return policy is simple and convenient:

  • If you’re not completely satisfied with your purchase, return it for a replacement or full refund within 30 days of the delivery date.*
  • You can arrange for at-home pick-up of your return
  • Pay just $4.95 in return shipping
*For safety reasons, cleaning formula purchases cannot be returned or refunded.

Return Instructions:

  1. Pack all items (including all accessories and manuals) securely and include the packaging list that was sent with the order.
  2. Attach the return address label on the outside of the package being returned. A $4.95 return shipping fee will be deducted from your bill.
  3. Take the package to an authorized ship center, or if you would like to schedule a pick-up call the FedEx Return Program at (888) 777-6040.

Refund Information:

Once we receive the merchandise, it will be inspected to make sure it meets quality standards. BISSELL Inc. reserves the right to deny refund for returned merchandise which appears to be excessively used or abused.

The refund will be issued in either check or credit format based on the original purchase once the return has been processed at our facility. It can take up to 4 weeks for your refund to be processed. Note that the original shipping and handling costs will not be refunded.

If you are out of the 30 day window for returns, refer to the warranty policy in your user's guide.

Return mailing address:

BISSELL Homecare, Inc.
5700 S International Pkwy
Suite B
McAllen TX 78503

Earn Rewards

Join the We Mean Clean Rewards program and you can earn points toward exclusive discounts. You’ll earn points when you register BISSELL products, make online purchases, and participate in special events and online activities. Signing up also means you can keep track of purchases and easily reorder replacement items (filters, mop pads) – and you’ll get expedited customer service!

Be sure to create an account during the checkout process to get the points for your purchase right away. Or, sign up now.

Rewards Tier Table

Where To Buy

Color & features may vary by retailer.

Find a local retailer:

Enter your zip code to find at a store near you.
Loading...

Price, promotions, styles and availability may vary by retail location and on other online sites. Retailers alone determine these factors.

Located on the white label above, usually on the back of the machine.
Close

Sign up for BISSELL Emails!

Get expert advice, time-saving tips & special offers.

New Subscriber? Sign up and receive 10% off your next bissell.com purchase!

Sign Up

It looks like that is an improperly formatted email address. Please try again.
Close

Thank You For Signing Up!

Check your inbox for expert advice, time-saving
tips & special offers.

Home to a Deeper Clean
Loading
Loading