PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398

$42.84*

  • Febreze® bags available!
  • Febreze® Bags Available!

    Eliminates Odors and Freshens as you vacuum

    3267.jpg17F9.jpg17F9-L-2.jpg

    bissell.com.jpg

    walmart.jpg

    Febreze and related trademarks are owned by The Procter & Gamble Company, Cincinnati, Ohio and used under license by BISSELL Homecare, Inc.

     

     

     

Loading...

PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398

PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398
Video And Image Gallery

Premium Allergen Filtration

The BISSELL PowerForce® offers the best of both worlds with a bagged vacuum. While vacuuming, feel at ease knowing you are filtering allergens and eliminating household malodors all at once!

  • Powerful Suction - great performance for an all around clean
  • Versatile Convenience with on-board tools and lightweight design
  • Febreze Bag eliminates odors and freshens as you vacuum
  • Multi-Level Filtration
  • Stretch hose provides extra reach

The advantages of a bagged vacuum
The PowerForce® Vacuum is one of the few BISSELL upright vacuums that is bagged instead of bagless. Using a bagged vacuum means you won’t have to make as much contact with the dirt and debris collected by your vacuum since it all stays enclosed inside the bag. If you don’t like cleaning out a dirt cup and don’t mind purchasing replacement bags, a bagged vacuum may be right for you.

  • Main Information

    Product Title:PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398
    Model #:1398
    Similar Models:1398R, 71Y7, 71Y71, 71Y72, 71Y73, 71Y7R, 71Y7V, 71Y7W, 71Y7Y
    Quantity:1
    List Price:$42.84
    Rewards Points:43
    Warranty:1 year limited
  • Special Features

    Premium Allergen Filtration
    • Powerful Suction - great performance for an all around clean
    • Versatile Convenience with on-board tools and lightweight design
    • Febreze Bag eliminates odors and freshens as you vacuum
    • Multi-Level Filtration
    • Stretch hose provides extra reach
    Help
    Microban® Protection - Microban® antimicrobial product protection is built in to products during manufacturing to help provide continuous protection from microscopic organisms that can cause stains, odors and deterioration.
    Microban® Protection:
    No
    Surface Type:Carpet, Upholstery
    Power Rating:10 Amps
    Heater:No
    Filtration:Multi-Level Filtration
    Cleaning Path Width:13.5"
    Weight:12 lbs
  • Power

    Power Rating:10 Amps
    Power Source:Corded
    Heater:No
    Help
    Air Flow Indicator - Shows you when the air flow in your vacuum has been disrupted so you know when there is a clog.
    Air Flow Indicator:
    No
    Brush System:Rotating
    Brush On/Off Switch:No
    Power Cord Length:23'
    Automatic Cord Rewind:No
  • Filtration

    Filtration:Multi-Level Filtration
    Clean Filter Indicator:No
  • Dirt Collection

    Surface Type:Carpet, Upholstery
    Cleaning Path Width:13.5"
    Surface Height Settings:5
    Help
    Dual Edge Cleaning - Additional brushes and suction on the sides of the cleaning path – great for cleaning along baseboards.
    Dual Edge Cleaning:
    Yes
    Bag Type:Bagged
    Easy Empty™ Dirt Cup:No
    Dirt Sensor:No
  • Specialty Tools

    Multi-Use Tools:Crevice Tool, Combination Dusting Brush/Upholstery Tool
    Reach Extension Tools:Extension Wand
  • Other Specs

    Color:Black
    Carry Handle:Yes
    Headlight:No
    Soft Bumper:Yes
    Belt Type:Style 7/9/10/12/14/16 Replacement Belt

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 149 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bird Cage and Floor Clean Up I was looking for and inexpensive vacuum with a bag. Anyone that is a bird lover knows how much dust (dander) a feathered friend can make in one day. With the bag I don't have to clean out the sweeper every three day, with the leaf blower. Recommend buying unscented bag. October 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty great for a carpet for a cheap vacuum I am on my third one of these. They do tend to break with heavy use after 2-3 years, but they are so economical and do a decent job. I like that it is lightweight and really great on carpets, even with pet hair, and I like the bag. I always hated emptying a dusty cartridge. My main trouble is that it's pretty useless on hard surface floors - it will definitely just blow around the dirt vs sucking it up, even on the lowest pile setting. I usually sweep and then suck it up with the crevice tool. The first thing to go is typically the plastic piece that locks the vacuum upright allowing it to stand on its own, then various other pieces of plastic. The vacuums tend to remain functional in spite of that, you just have to lean it against the wall. The cord length has become shorter with every newer model, which is a pain. Wasn't so bad in a smaller house, but now it gets on my nerves. October 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by dissatisfied This product is not very sturdy, it falls over when using hose with tools. Dust is escaping. I would like to upgrade to a better quality allergenic bagless vacuum. I would appreciate your assistance in upgrade replacement October 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it. Best one I have ever had. I love this vacuum. This is my 2nd one now. My first one I had for 10 years and just had to replace it. October 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not So Quiet My personal opinion, there isn't a product out there, that might get a 5-star. Some where in the future, of owning this product it's going to fail, in one format or another. I will say, the product, at this juncture, appears to be doing the job, as efficient as it says it will. I like the reality, that it is light weight. Easy to push around, and if I have to use the extensions to get up high, the unit can be lifted to add additional extensions. I think it's a good product, for the money. I looked at many, including the more expensive machines, and asked myself, why pay anything above $100, just because of a Name. Vacuums - is what it is. Many machines are over-rated. This one seems to come through. Only had this machine for a few weeks, and so far so good. Thanks. September 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The best vacuum for it's value. I have really enjoyed using my Bissell vacuum cleaner. this product has the greatest features, I use it to do the floors and vacuum my sofa, as well as the drapes in my home. it has the best suction power ever. I would recommend this product to all my friends'. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of use. I never like to vacuum so I keep buying cleaners but this one is the easiest for me to use and to store. I have paid 6 times this price for vacuums that were too difficult for me to use. I am 79 years old and dragging around a heavy canister or emptying a bag less one, proved too labor intensive. I went back to this Bissell because of it's ease of use, and convenient access to the tools. This is the second one that I have purchased . I had given the first to my daughter and she used it until it would no longer stand upright, so she donated it to Goodwill and lamented that she missed it and regretted that donation. I had given her the expensive canister and the bag less ones, that I no longer wanted. I guess I should buy her another Bissell. This is a great value at a very reasonable price. I don't need the bells and whistles that are promoted on the more expensive models. September 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product This sweeper is the best sweeper I ever had. I bought an Oreck a couple months ago. I will use it in the basement. It was the worst one I ever bought. Thank you September 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great vac I just bought this at Walmart today. I am replacing the older version of it. I had my old Bissell for 7 years and it worked great. My only complaint so far is that the amps were not listed on the box nor is it listed in the guide that came with the vac. I had to call Bissell to find out this info. I did find out that it is a 10 amp. My old one was a 12 amp. I hope it has the same great suction. I am not sure how much a 2 amp different makes but I will find out soon. Also, this was the only vac at the store that had a bag. All the others vacs were bagless which I do not like. September 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well done lightweight There isn't anything to not like about this vacuum. I especially like the fact that it has a bag. The bag system is easier and much more sanitary than bagless models. And, just try and find a new one that has a bag; they are hard to come by. Well done Bissell! September 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by PowerForce Bagged Vacuum 71Y7V Dare you find another Vacuum that is better than the 71Y7V Model. This Vacuum has more cleaning power than many of the much more expensive models. It's light weight, easy to use, and no problem trying to empty the dirt container and having dirt fly back into your cleaned area. Just replace the bag when full. Futhermore, and just as important, my back doesn't hurt after cleaning with the PowerForce Bagged Vacuum. September 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent vacuum I am sure this inexpensive vacuum will not last as long as my Kirby (going on 30+ years now). However, it pulls dirt very well, it is light weight, not too loud. So, I'll keep using it until the motor burns out or the brush roller bearings seize up. Until then, it is a pleasure using this vacuum, and for the $40+ price, what the heck - I'll recommend this vacuum to anyone. September 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite model!!! I enjoyed a similar machine for seven years from Bissell. I shopped around town and found an updated model at my local Walmart. I am already enjoying the flexible hose when I clean the stairs. I miss the light in the front....but I like the addition of the scented Fabreze bags! Keep up the great work! September 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still don't have quite right Against my wishes, my husband bought yet another Bissell upright. They have a slight improvement over the older models, in my opinion. The cord is now a reasonable length, but I like long cords so I don't have to plug & unplug so many times to get from one room to another. They are working on a better hose, but still haven't gotten it quite right. The hose is not as stiff as the older models, which is good - BUT - for the weight of the machine, any slight pull on the hose attached to the cleaning tools, and you have a rear end attack every time, unless it just falls over. The suction is still a plus and the price. September 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bissell PowerForce I bought this a week ago, after my Hoover Windtunnel lost the self propel feature. I like the lightweight Bissell and I prefer a bagged vaccuum. My only issue at this time is that the hose for the attachments tends to pop off pretty easily while I am vaccuuming the floor. August 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Physically looks great. Suction is poor. Physically I think the vacuum looks great. I like the new Febreeze bags that you can buy for it. I like the clear tube and small wand head. I feel the suction is great when using the wand but as far as vacuuming the floors I don't think it sucks well. I have had several of these Bissell uprights over the last 8 years or so and compared to them it just doesn't feel like the floor gets clean. I always go back to the Bissell uprights because of the price, style and accessories. Those qualities fit my needs great. This recent Bissell I've purchased doesn't compare to the Bissell vacuums I've had in the past in regards to overall cleaning power. For now, I guess it will have to do! August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Powerful Vacuum at a Budget Price This is probably the first time I haven't minded vacuuming thanks to the Febreze scent that jumps out every time I do. It does it's job, is easy and cheap to maintain and compact enough to fit in my tiny broom closet. I love it! August 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good light weight vacuum Bought this vacuum as a backup for light day sweeping. Needed something light weight as I have back problems. It is light weight to pickup but if not adjusted right on height level on carpet it can be hard to push. When adjusted right it does a good job of picking up and since we have a cat it needs to pick up cat hair. It does make a little more noise than I like but since I only have to use it a short time it really doesn't matter. If someone was looking for a light weight vacuum that does a good job of picking up I would recommend this one. August 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprised by My First Bissell Was looking for an inexpensive, lightweight, bagged cleaner (I, too, was sick of the bagged ones) and stumbled upon this one at Walmart. It works perfectly (except for some noisiness), and I like the height adjustment knob. So far, so good...it cleans just fine! August 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This vacuum is my second Bissell, and I love it and wouldn't want being without it when doing my cleaning chores. The suction power is great and I like having a bagged vacuum since the bagless ones just distribute the dirt. Hope that this one will last as long as my previous one did, about six years. Good product. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product i bought this product a few years ago,and now i have bought another one.i gave my old one to a family member.this is a really great product. July 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware I purchased without doing all my research. This does use bags. Now I have to add to my continues hope that my local store carries these bags. Also you will need a long handled Phillips screw drive do place the one screw. The bag need replacing quiet quickly because it is small. It is light weight, good for moving but not stable while in use with hose. July 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great vacuum!great price I loved this vacuum so much that I bought a second one for upstairs. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy This vacuum has good cleaning power for carpets and hardwood floors. It is easy to use and takes little space to store. I find it much easier to use than my canister vacuum and it does not seem to bother my back as much. A great vacuum for a great price! July 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and effective Good value; works great; good suction; easy to get parts and filters for it. July 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Am really surprised by this vacuum I am loving the new design of this vacuum. It is bagged vacuum which I do really like. The suction is excellent. I needed a light weight vacuum because I can no longer push and pull 20 pound vacuum . This fit my idea of a vacuum to a tee. Am very pleased with the vacuum so far. I have only had the vacuum for a week but I find it to a good match for my needs. Lightweight, good suction pick up and BAGGED vacuum. July 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I opt for only the best! This is my third Bissell Vacuum. I bought one for my mom and two for myself back in 2003 and recently. The only reason why I had to replace mines is because while cleaning after moving to another home, a family member was forcing items to be vacuumed and therefore she blew out the motor/belt on my...yes 10 year vac. It was probably time for a new one anyway, but prior to someone else's carelessness, my Bissell was working just fine. Never had any problems none whatsoever! In my humble opinion know other vacuum can compare! July 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wow. light, powerful, & has bag i bought this product because i wanted a light vacuum with a bag. not too many companies make this & are way more expensive. was i surprised about how powerful it was. sure beats my old, heavy & expensive one by miles. will buy another one for downstairs. love the febreeze bag. it is a bit noisy & doesn't have a light, but overall it's wonderful. July 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Started out great; didn't last long. My vacuum won't even switch on anymore. We only have carpets in our bedrooms and have only used this vacuum two or three times. While I was using it one day, I stopped it to help my daughter with something and went to finish and it's completely dead; flip the switch and nothing, like it's not plugged in at all. At first I thought maybe it overheated, although I had never heard of a vacuum doing that, nor had I been running it long, but a week later I try it and still nothing. Am currently searching for reasons to the problem in hopes of finding an answer other than buying a new vacuum. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great vacuum Was skeptical at first. How well could a low cost vacuum work? I was pleasantly surprised at this machine, It is very easy to maneuver and the suction is great. I also love that it is bagged. Too many issues with bagless vacuums. I would highly recommend this to any one shopping for a bagged vacuum cleaner. On board storage of attachments is also good. June 28, 2013
<<< 2 3 4 5 6 >>>

Featured Products

$42.84*

  • Febreze® bags available!
  • Febreze® Bags Available!

    Eliminates Odors and Freshens as you vacuum

    3267.jpg17F9.jpg17F9-L-2.jpg

    bissell.com.jpg

    walmart.jpg

    Febreze and related trademarks are owned by The Procter & Gamble Company, Cincinnati, Ohio and used under license by BISSELL Homecare, Inc.

     

     

     

Loading...
Febreze-Filters-Maintenance_181x141
BOGO20_TriggerForm_FGsquare
Loading...

Price, promotions, styles and availability may vary by retail location and on other online sites. Retailers alone determine these factors.

Shipping & Handling


How much does shipping cost?

We offer free standard shipping on all orders over $30 on bissell.com! No coupon code is needed.

Here are rates for other order amounts and shipping methods:

  • Up to $4.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $3.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $8.99

  • $5 - $19.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $5.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $20 - $29.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $7.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $30 - $99.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $100 - $229.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $21.99

  • $230 and up order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $35.99

When will my order arrive?
After adding items to your shopping cart, you will able to choose from two shipping options: standard (5-7 business days) and expedited (3-5 business days). Next to each option is a delivery estimate date window, which will calculate dates including "business days" and determine when most shipments will arrive. 

 

How are estimated delivery dates calculated?

  • Most orders placed before 2pm ET on a business day process and ship on the same day. Business days count forward from there.
  • Most orders placed after 2pm ET or on weekends/holidays will process and ship the following business day. Business days count forward from there.

 

What are considered business days?
Business days include Monday–Friday and exclude holidays. Holidays in 2014 include: May 26, July 4, September 1, November 27, November 28, December 25, and December 26.

 

When will I receive my tracking number?
Tracking numbers are sent to you in an email about 24-48 hours after your order ships. This delay allows the shipment to be processed by the shipment carrier’s website. Your order should still arrive within the original estimated window.

The email will arrive with the subject, “Your BISSELL shipping confirmation”. You can also visit the View Your Order page anytime to find the latest status of your order, including its tracking number once it has shipped.

 

What carrier will be used to ship my order?
BISSELL uses multiple carriers to ship products. The carrier who ships your order is selected by our shipping department and depends on many factors including items purchased, delivery address, warehouse inventory levels, and more.

 

Will my entire order arrive in one shipment?
Multi-item orders may require shipments from multiple warehouse locations, so you may receive some items separately. Details for each shipment will be provided by email and will be available on the View Your Order page.

 

What about orders outside of the continental US?
Standard shipments to Alaska, Hawaii, Guam, Puerto Rico, American Samoa and Virgin Islands will arrive within 15 business days.

 

What about P.O. Boxes or Military Addresses?
If you have a P.O. Box, an APO or a military address, you will need to place your order over the phone by calling BISSELL Customer Care at 1-800-237-7691 during these hours:
Monday- Friday: 8am to 10pm ET
Saturdays: 9am to 8pm ET
Sundays: 10am to 7pm ET

 

What about Special "As Seen on TV" Offers?
The above information does not necessarily apply to special "As Seen on TV" offers.

Return Policy

BISSELL.com’s return policy is simple and convenient:

  • If you’re not completely satisfied with your purchase, return it for a replacement or full refund within 30 days of the delivery date.*
  • You can arrange for at-home pick-up of your return
  • Pay just $4.95 in return shipping
*For safety reasons, cleaning formula purchases cannot be returned or refunded.

Return Instructions:

  1. Pack all items (including all accessories and manuals) securely and include the packaging list that was sent with the order.
  2. Attach the return address label on the outside of the package being returned. A $4.95 return shipping fee will be deducted from your bill.
  3. Take the package to an authorized ship center, or if you would like to schedule a pick-up call the FedEx Return Program at (888) 777-6040.

Refund Information:

Once we receive the merchandise, it will be inspected to make sure it meets quality standards. BISSELL Inc. reserves the right to deny refund for returned merchandise which appears to be excessively used or abused.

The refund will be issued in either check or credit format based on the original purchase once the return has been processed at our facility. It can take up to 4 weeks for your refund to be processed. Note that the original shipping and handling costs will not be refunded.

If you are out of the 30 day window for returns, refer to the warranty policy in your user's guide.

Return mailing address:

BISSELL Homecare, Inc.
5700 S International Pkwy
Suite B
McAllen TX 78503

Earn Rewards

Join the We Mean Clean Rewards program and you can earn points toward exclusive discounts. You’ll earn points when you register BISSELL products, make online purchases, and participate in special events and online activities. Signing up also means you can keep track of purchases and easily reorder replacement items (filters, mop pads) – and you’ll get expedited customer service!

Be sure to create an account during the checkout process to get the points for your purchase right away. Or, sign up now.

Rewards Tier Table

Where To Buy

Color & features may vary by retailer.

Find a local retailer:

Enter your zip code to find at a store near you.
Loading...

Price, promotions, styles and availability may vary by retail location and on other online sites. Retailers alone determine these factors.

Located on the white label above, usually on the back of the machine.
Close

Sign up for BISSELL Emails!

Get expert advice, time-saving tips & special offers.

New Subscriber? Sign up and receive 10% off your next bissell.com purchase!

Sign Up

It looks like that is an improperly formatted email address. Please try again.
Close

Thank You For Signing Up!

Check your inbox for expert advice, time-saving
tips & special offers.

Home to a Deeper Clean
Loading
Loading

Exclusive Offer for Email Subscribers! learn more

Signup

get free shipping on any order over $30!Learn More »