PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398


  • Febreze® bags available!
  • Febreze® Bags Available!

    Eliminates Odors and Freshens as you vacuum




    Febreze and related trademarks are owned by The Procter & Gamble Company, Cincinnati, Ohio and used under license by BISSELL Homecare, Inc.





PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398

PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398
Media Gallery:

Premium Allergen Filtration

The BISSELL PowerForce® offers the best of both worlds with a bagged vacuum. While vacuuming, feel at ease knowing you are filtering allergens and eliminating household malodors all at once!

  • Powerful Suction - great performance for an all around clean
  • Versatile Convenience with on-board tools and lightweight design
  • Febreze Bag eliminates odors and freshens as you vacuum
  • Multi-Level Filtration
  • Stretch hose provides extra reach

The advantages of a bagged vacuum
The PowerForce® Vacuum is one of the few BISSELL upright vacuums that is bagged instead of bagless. Using a bagged vacuum means you won’t have to make as much contact with the dirt and debris collected by your vacuum since it all stays enclosed inside the bag. If you don’t like cleaning out a dirt cup and don’t mind purchasing replacement bags, a bagged vacuum may be right for you.

  • Main Information

    Product Title:PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398
    Model #:1398
    Similar Models:1398R, 71Y7, 71Y71, 71Y72, 71Y73, 71Y7R, 71Y7V, 71Y7W, 71Y7Y
    List Price:$42.84
    Rewards Points:43
    Warranty:1 year limited
  • Special Features

    Premium Allergen Filtration
    • Powerful Suction - great performance for an all around clean
    • Versatile Convenience with on-board tools and lightweight design
    • Febreze Bag eliminates odors and freshens as you vacuum
    • Multi-Level Filtration
    • Stretch hose provides extra reach
    Surface Type:Carpet, Upholstery
    Power Rating:10 Amps
    Filtration:Multi-Level Filtration
    Cleaning Path Width:13.5"
    Weight:12 lbs
  • Power

    Power Rating:10 Amps
    Power Source:Corded
    Air Flow Indicator - Shows you when the air flow in your vacuum has been disrupted so you know when there is a clog.
    Air Flow Indicator:
    Brush System:Rotating
    Brush On/Off Switch:No
    Power Cord Length:23'
    Automatic Cord Rewind:No
  • Filtration

    Filtration:Multi-Level Filtration
    Clean Filter Indicator:No
  • Dirt Collection

    Surface Type:Carpet, Upholstery
    Cleaning Path Width:13.5"
    Surface Height Settings:5
    Dual Edge Cleaning - Additional brushes and suction on the sides of the cleaning path – great for cleaning along baseboards.
    Dual Edge Cleaning:
    Bag Type:Bagged
    Easy Empty™ Dirt Cup:No
    Dirt Sensor:No
  • Specialty Tools

    Multi-Use Tools:Crevice Tool, Combination Dusting Brush/Upholstery Tool
    Reach Extension Tools:Extension Wand
  • Other Specs

    Carry Handle:Yes
    Soft Bumper:Yes
    Belt Type:Style 7/9/10/12/14/16 Replacement Belt

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 168 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Vaccum Ever I have this kind similar to blue in old model but this model is best just because the febreeze. May 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2nd Bissell I bought I bought this because after 3 years of heavy use of my 12 Amp Power Force, I finally broke off a wheel. I wish the twelve amp version was still around, but this 8/10 amp version should do well for me over the next few years. Plus, it takes the same bags I already have. I hate the bagless vacs. Every time you open them up to empty them, all the dust just come flying out. What good is it to have a super allergen filter if you're just gong to release them all when you go to empty the vacuum? Not to mention that by the third use they look like they've been through World War III. Scratches and streaks all across the clear plastic case. Yuck. I'd recommend this bagged vac to anyone. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this Vacuum This is my product of choice. I clean houses for a living, and this vacuum is SUPER! Not too heavy while vacuuming stairs, the extendable and flexible hose with tools is VERY convenient and easily accessible. I ONLY USE BISSELL!!!! March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Product I guess you get what you pay for. This is on the lower end as far as prices, as well as quality. It work great for a few months and then just quit sucking all together. I did change the bag and made sure there were no clogs. Guess its time to go buy a new one. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Vacuum Love this vacuum. Replaced my bagless due to the mess. So glad to be back with the bags and this vacuum is lightweight, great pick up and can't beat the price. Thanks Bissell for another great product! February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE This vacuum! My old vacuum just stopped working. Today I bought my FIRST Bissell! I was raised on only buying Kenmore, but frankly don't like the fact I have to travel to Sears to get parts or repair done. This little Bissell is everything I had hoped for and more!!! And the price is beyond right on! My last vacuum was 12amps, but this Bissell picks up WAY better than that and it has 10amps! Yeehaw!!! Light weight and has my house fresh and smelling like a meadow (which is great since we have dogs). Thank you !!! January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Vacuum I have used the Bissell vacuum fopr many years I love how light and easy to handle it is I would high reccommend this product January 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bissell Bagged Powerforce (Model 71Y7R) Though my remanufactured purchase of this product in Model 71Y7R a few days ago out of the box revealed a crack on the top of the handle and a significantly worn hose wand, this vacuum still performs well when I use it to vacuum the carpet, as well as being sufficiently quiet while doing so. January 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by disposable bag This vacuum is by far the best vacuum I have ever had and used. On top of that it's price point is low enough that I can purchase one for the garage/car, one for the basement and one for upstairs in my home. What makes it so great is it's disposable bag - by having this feature the filter doesn't get clogged and have to be replaced monthly - so the suction is consistent and really excellent. Lets not forget the handiness of onboard tools - quick and easy - light enough to carry, awesome cleanup - Bissell, you've done a great job...now if only you could add a disposable bag to your Pet Hair Eraser vacuum. January 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lightweight/hose easy to use I have used this vacuum for my cleaning business for 17 years now. I won't buy another vacuum. This one is great because it is lightweight and has the easy to use hose. The only thing is they don't last like they use to. They breakdown quickly. January 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little vacuum! We got this vacuum to clean our church. The suction outdid our other vacuum and it did a better job too! The only problem we have ever had is with a small part that broke and we replaced it with new part ..good as new! We now have 2 of these at the church and I got one for home. They are not fancy but still do a great job. The hose is kinda cheap but that is my only complaint. All are still going strong after 2+ yrs. of hard use (the church is very big) December 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I cant find this vac Its the best vac you can buy I used this vac for my cleaning service I owned 13 of them its been 5 years since I sold my business I want another on where can I buy one please help December 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bissel Powerforce I've had my Bissel for 7 years. I'm not sure that I've ever even changed a belt on this vacuum. I love this thing. Has the best suction than any other machine I've ever owned. I've somehow misplaced my attachment for the extension. Glad to see I can order replacements but disappointed that you no longer offer the crevise piece. November 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Vacuum I love my Bissell! I owned another Bissell previously, but being from Canton, OH I was raised on Hoover vacuums. I thought I had to have a Hoover when I moved, so I gave my Bissell to my best friend and I regretted that everyday since. My new Bissell (PowerForce) is a much better vacuum than my Hoover (Wind Tunnel). The power force makes my carpet look better, the hose is more powerful, and it has a bag. The Hoover I had was bagless and it was too hard to open up to empty and after vacuuming 2 rooms it would just shut off and have to cool down. I WILL ALWAYS OWN A BISSELL . October 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hose detaches while vacuuming I clean rental properties for a living and this is my go to vacuum. However, the last 2 I purchased, at different times, have both had the issue of a loose hose that detaches and flops to the ground while vacuuming. This is a major flaw and annoyance when trying to vacuum. I did exchange them for another and realized thay this must be a design flaw for 2014. Please fix this issue. October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great vacumm forapts I have used mine for a few months now and it is wonderful. the power is there to clean up the carpet in a one bedroom apt. September 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great lightweight vacuum with a design flaw I've used this style vacuum for years now. My father has one also. It has great suction and is lightweight. I love that I don't have to make a mess emptying a dirt cup. The onboard hose with attachments is great for quick upholstery cleaning and getting in corners. The hose does stretch over time which makes it difficult to keep in it's clip, so it tends to pop out of the base easily. My only real issue with the design of this vacuum is the wheel assembly with axle. I have had to replace this multiple times on more than one machine due to the cheap plastic nubs used to hold it in place. They break off quickly with normal use. A simple metal pin through them could deter this. I have already contacted the company to fix this flaw, but apparently that has not been done. I am once again having to order this part which broke again recently. I have to buy a few to be sure I have a replacement for when the new one breaks...which it definitely will. I like this vacuum enough so that it's still worth the additional trouble and expense, but it's a shame that such a simple flaw that could be easily corrected keeps this from being a great product. It's not a high-end machine, but for the price, it's hard to beat. September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This vacuum works very well. i have had 5 and ordering #6 my big complaint is the stiff cord which i constantly run over and have to tape. if you change your bag this vacuum works well. we used many in cleaning apts. buildings and they will usually last 2 yrs, that is commercial use. the mechanism that keeps sweeper standing is usually is the first thing to go so i would like them to improve on both of these issues otherwise i think it is a great sweeper for the money. i recommend the power force with the bags..... September 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Owned this model for years and years! Love how it works!! I've bought 3 more vacuums (including the shark) after this because we have pets and the bagged vacuums smell...but I have always come back to this one. The mechanisms are made really cheap and within the first year have had to fix 3 things on it...but as far as functioning...it works great! I will use it for as long as it holds up and will be buying a Bissell again. August 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Light and easy to push around I have allergies to dust and dust mites and this vacuum has been helpful in controlling those allergies. It is easy to push around. The reason I did not give 5 stars is that the hose does pop off quite frequently as does the power cord from the groove above the slot for the hose. Otherwise, it is easy to fix if the belt comes off (I vacuum from tile to carpet. This has only happened once in 3 years). It does an EXCELLENT job vacuuming tile. My water after mopping is barely soiled. So much cleaner than when I would use a broom. Also, it is very easy to change the bags. For those reviewers that say dirt blows everywhere, I ask if you have checked the filters and ensured they are intact. Also, it has been my experience that if you have these problems so soon after purchasing it, the retailer will exchange it. In addition, the on board tools are handy and easy to quickly access when cleaning. I would recommend this vacuum. August 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst The worst vacuum. The lid is always falling off, the hose will not stay connected as you are vacuuming, and it blows dust and dirt everywhere. August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Vacuum glides easily I had a minor stroke a year ago & our old vaccum became very hard for me to use. We bought the Bissell PowerForce at our local retailer & I'm so pleased with it. I have no problem pushing it on our carpets, it glides so easily. I'm able to put the attachments together and pull apart easily for along the baseboards in the rooms with hardwood floors, even on days that my muscles aren't cooperating. I was so thrilled with my vaccuum, we went and bought one for my mother who had knee replacement surgery and bought us another one for upstairs! We did however have to replace the roller in our first vaccuum, but it could be due to going from carpet to hardwood throughout our home. I would still highly recommend this sweeper! :) I also own a Bissell Carpet Cleaner and everyone borrows it! Guess that says how great it works too! Thank you Bissell! July 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by waste of money dont throw good money at this machine. It did not last at all blows dirt and doesn't suck dirt up at all. I bought at wal-mart. Its just a big ball of plastic now. Not even worth the repair. Just save your money and get a high quality vacuum at sears. July 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by blows dirt everywhere!!!! This vacuum does not work beyond 4 months. even with a brand new bag, it blows dirt and particles everywhere. It ruins my whole day. So frustrating. I just want a vacuum that works!!!!!!!! Ive resorted to using a broom on the carpets because, at least I get the big pieces up. When it did work...briefly, the attachment hose would fall out constantly blowing stuff everywhere!!!!! so annoying! June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best vacuum in 55 years!!!!!!! Who knows how many vacs I have owned in 55 years, but I would buy this one for the next 55. Hope they don't quit making it. Never heard a vac so quiet ... first thought something was wrong. It didn't sound like a jet. Easy push and raises nap like new. Large bag capacity - bagless vacs are too much maintenance, too messy and way over rated. This is simple with no frills - it just does what it is supposed to. For $40+, it is a steal. June 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This product lasted just 2 months longer then the waranty This product only lasted 2 months longer than the warranty which is very disappointing. May 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I would buy it again I know this vac does not have the bells and whistles like others but I wanted a bag vac. I am not spending my time on filters to wash and dry. I take the bag out and put another in. It has great suction and I'm very happy not spending so much money . I'm going on 2 years now. Thanks Bissell May 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vac I purchased this vac at Walmart, because it was inexpensive from a name brand. It served me well over 4 years in a rental building used and abused by many users. The only drawback is that it needs to be taken apart sometimes to clean it out, but bissel made it easy to do. I have the bag-less version for home use now over 5 years no problems! April 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Can't unclog When I purchased did not have dogs. Now I have two and the Bissell does okay on the dog hair. My problem is that the two vacuums I have, both are clogged with dog hair. It seems the only way to totally unclogged is to take the vacuum apart, which I don't want to do, since it may not got back together correctly then it becomes useless. March 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing vacuum I have had this vacuum about a month. it is honestly the best vacuum i have ever used. it is light weight has great power and the bags capture everything. i have severe allergies and asthma and this vacuum helps so much with both problems March 14, 2014
  • 2015-10-03T07:27:34.368-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_168, tr_168
  • loc_en_US, sid_2468, prod, sort_default
<<<2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>

Featured Products


  • Febreze® bags available!
  • Febreze® Bags Available!

    Eliminates Odors and Freshens as you vacuum




    Febreze and related trademarks are owned by The Procter & Gamble Company, Cincinnati, Ohio and used under license by BISSELL Homecare, Inc.





Price, promotions, styles and availability may vary by retail location and on other online sites. Retailers alone determine these factors.

Shipping & Handling

How much does shipping cost?

We offer free standard shipping on all orders over $30 on bissell.com! No coupon code is needed.

Here are rates for other order amounts and shipping methods:

  • Up to $4.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $3.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $8.99

  • $5 - $19.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $5.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $20 - $29.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $30 - $99.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $100 - $229.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $21.99

  • $230 and up order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $35.99

When will my order arrive?
After adding items to your shopping cart, you will able to choose from two shipping options: standard (5-7 business days) and expedited (3-5 business days). Next to each option is a delivery estimate date window, which will calculate dates including "business days" and determine when most shipments will arrive. 


How are estimated delivery dates calculated?

  • Most orders placed before 2pm ET on a business day process and ship on the same day. Business days count forward from there.
  • Most orders placed after 2pm ET or on weekends/holidays will process and ship the following business day. Business days count forward from there.

What are considered business days?
Business days include Monday–Friday and exclude holidays.
2014 Holidays: January 1, May 26, July 4, September 1, November 27-28, December 25-26.
2015 Holidays: January 1, May 25, July 3, September 7, November 26-27, December 24-25.


When will I receive my tracking number?
Tracking numbers are sent to you in an email about 24-48 hours after your order ships. This delay allows the shipment to be processed by the shipment carrier’s website. Your order should still arrive within the original estimated window.

The email will arrive with the subject, “Your BISSELL shipping confirmation”. You can also visit the View Your Order page anytime to find the latest status of your order, including its tracking number once it has shipped.


What carrier will be used to ship my order?
BISSELL uses multiple carriers to ship products. The carrier who ships your order is selected by our shipping department and depends on many factors including items purchased, delivery address, warehouse inventory levels, and more.


Will my entire order arrive in one shipment?
Multi-item orders may require shipments from multiple warehouse locations, so you may receive some items separately. Details for each shipment will be provided by email and will be available on the View Your Order page.


What about orders outside of the continental US?
Standard shipments to Alaska, Hawaii, Guam, Puerto Rico, American Samoa and Virgin Islands will arrive within 15 business days.


What about P.O. Boxes or Military Addresses?
If you have a P.O. Box, an APO or a military address, you will need to place your order over the phone by calling BISSELL Customer Care at 1-800-237-7691 during these hours:
Monday- Friday: 8am to 10pm ET
Saturdays: 9am to 8pm ET
Sundays: 10am to 7pm ET


What about Special "As Seen on TV" Offers?
The above information does not necessarily apply to special "As Seen on TV" offers.

Return Policy

NOTE: If you need to return The Anna Upright Cordless/Hybrid Vacuum 1422, click here.
The following is the return policy for all other products:

BISSELL.com’s return policy is simple and convenient:

  • If you’re not completely satisfied with your purchase, return it for a replacement or full refund within 30 days of the delivery date.*
  • You can arrange for at-home pick-up of your return
  • Pay just $4.95 in return shipping
*For safety reasons, cleaning formula purchases cannot be returned or refunded.

Return Instructions:

  1. Pack all items (including all accessories and manuals) securely and include the packaging list that was sent with the order.
  2. Attach the return address label on the outside of the package being returned. A $4.95 return shipping fee will be deducted from your bill.
  3. Take the package to an authorized ship center, or if you would like to schedule a pick-up call the FedEx Return Program at (888) 777-6040.

Refund Information:

Once we receive the merchandise, it will be inspected to make sure it meets quality standards. BISSELL Inc. reserves the right to deny refund for returned merchandise which appears to be excessively used or abused.

The refund will be issued in either check or credit format based on the original purchase once the return has been processed at our facility. It can take up to 4 weeks for your refund to be processed. Note that the original shipping and handling costs will not be refunded.

If you are out of the 30 day window for returns, refer to the warranty policy in your user's guide.

Return mailing address:

BISSELL Homecare, Inc.
5700 S International Pkwy
Suite B
McAllen TX 78503

Earn Rewards

Join the We Mean Clean Rewards program and you can earn points toward exclusive discounts. You’ll earn points when you register BISSELL products, make online purchases, and participate in special events and online activities. Signing up also means you can keep track of purchases and easily reorder replacement items (filters, mop pads) – and you’ll get expedited customer service!

Be sure to create an account during the checkout process to get the points for your purchase right away. Or, sign up now.

Rewards Tier Table

Where To Buy

Color & features may vary by retailer.

Find a local retailer:

Enter your zip code to find at a store near you.

Price, promotions, styles and availability may vary by retail location and on other online sites. Retailers alone determine these factors.

Located on the white label above, usually on the back of the machine.

Sign up for BISSELL Emails!

Get expert advice, time-saving tips & special offers.

New Subscriber? Sign up and receive 10% off your next bissell.com purchase!

Sign Up

It looks like that is an improperly formatted email address. Please try again.

Thank You For Signing Up!

Check your inbox for expert advice, time-saving
tips & special offers.

Home to a Deeper Clean®

Exclusive Offer for Email Subscribers! learn more


get free shipping on any order over $30!Learn More »