PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398

$42.84*

  • Febreze® bags available!
  • Febreze® Bags Available!

    Eliminates Odors and Freshens as you vacuum

    3267.jpg17F9.jpg17F9-L-2.jpg

    bissell.com.jpg

    walmart.jpg

    Febreze and related trademarks are owned by The Procter & Gamble Company, Cincinnati, Ohio and used under license by BISSELL Homecare, Inc.

     

     

     

Loading...

PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398

PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398
Video And Image Gallery

Premium Allergen Filtration

The BISSELL PowerForce® offers the best of both worlds with a bagged vacuum. While vacuuming, feel at ease knowing you are filtering allergens and eliminating household malodors all at once!

  • Powerful Suction - great performance for an all around clean
  • Versatile Convenience with on-board tools and lightweight design
  • Febreze Bag eliminates odors and freshens as you vacuum
  • Multi-Level Filtration
  • Stretch hose provides extra reach

The advantages of a bagged vacuum
The PowerForce® Vacuum is one of the few BISSELL upright vacuums that is bagged instead of bagless. Using a bagged vacuum means you won’t have to make as much contact with the dirt and debris collected by your vacuum since it all stays enclosed inside the bag. If you don’t like cleaning out a dirt cup and don’t mind purchasing replacement bags, a bagged vacuum may be right for you.

  • Main Information

    Product Title:PowerForce® Bagged Vacuum 1398
    Model #:1398
    Similar Models:1398R, 71Y7, 71Y71, 71Y72, 71Y73, 71Y7R, 71Y7V, 71Y7W, 71Y7Y
    Quantity:1
    List Price:$42.84
    Rewards Points:43
    Warranty:1 year limited
  • Special Features

    Premium Allergen Filtration
    • Powerful Suction - great performance for an all around clean
    • Versatile Convenience with on-board tools and lightweight design
    • Febreze Bag eliminates odors and freshens as you vacuum
    • Multi-Level Filtration
    • Stretch hose provides extra reach
    Help
    Microban® Protection - Microban® antimicrobial product protection is built in to products during manufacturing to help provide continuous protection from microscopic organisms that can cause stains, odors and deterioration.
    Microban® Protection:
    No
    Surface Type:Carpet, Upholstery
    Power Rating:10 Amps
    Heater:No
    Filtration:Multi-Level Filtration
    Cleaning Path Width:13.5"
    Weight:12 lbs
  • Power

    Power Rating:10 Amps
    Power Source:Corded
    Heater:No
    Help
    Air Flow Indicator - Shows you when the air flow in your vacuum has been disrupted so you know when there is a clog.
    Air Flow Indicator:
    No
    Brush System:Rotating
    Brush On/Off Switch:No
    Power Cord Length:23'
    Automatic Cord Rewind:No
  • Filtration

    Filtration:Multi-Level Filtration
    Clean Filter Indicator:No
  • Dirt Collection

    Surface Type:Carpet, Upholstery
    Cleaning Path Width:13.5"
    Surface Height Settings:5
    Help
    Dual Edge Cleaning - Additional brushes and suction on the sides of the cleaning path – great for cleaning along baseboards.
    Dual Edge Cleaning:
    Yes
    Bag Type:Bagged
    Easy Empty™ Dirt Cup:No
    Dirt Sensor:No
  • Specialty Tools

    Multi-Use Tools:Crevice Tool, Combination Dusting Brush/Upholstery Tool
    Reach Extension Tools:Extension Wand
  • Other Specs

    Color:Black
    Carry Handle:Yes
    Headlight:No
    Soft Bumper:Yes
    Belt Type:Style 7/9/10/12/14/16 Replacement Belt

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 149 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Light and easy to push around I have allergies to dust and dust mites and this vacuum has been helpful in controlling those allergies. It is easy to push around. The reason I did not give 5 stars is that the hose does pop off quite frequently as does the power cord from the groove above the slot for the hose. Otherwise, it is easy to fix if the belt comes off (I vacuum from tile to carpet. This has only happened once in 3 years). It does an EXCELLENT job vacuuming tile. My water after mopping is barely soiled. So much cleaner than when I would use a broom. Also, it is very easy to change the bags. For those reviewers that say dirt blows everywhere, I ask if you have checked the filters and ensured they are intact. Also, it has been my experience that if you have these problems so soon after purchasing it, the retailer will exchange it. In addition, the on board tools are handy and easy to quickly access when cleaning. I would recommend this vacuum. August 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst The worst vacuum. The lid is always falling off, the hose will not stay connected as you are vacuuming, and it blows dust and dirt everywhere. August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Vacuum glides easily I had a minor stroke a year ago & our old vaccum became very hard for me to use. We bought the Bissell PowerForce at our local retailer & I'm so pleased with it. I have no problem pushing it on our carpets, it glides so easily. I'm able to put the attachments together and pull apart easily for along the baseboards in the rooms with hardwood floors, even on days that my muscles aren't cooperating. I was so thrilled with my vaccuum, we went and bought one for my mother who had knee replacement surgery and bought us another one for upstairs! We did however have to replace the roller in our first vaccuum, but it could be due to going from carpet to hardwood throughout our home. I would still highly recommend this sweeper! :) I also own a Bissell Carpet Cleaner and everyone borrows it! Guess that says how great it works too! Thank you Bissell! July 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by waste of money dont throw good money at this machine. It did not last at all blows dirt and doesn't suck dirt up at all. I bought at wal-mart. Its just a big ball of plastic now. Not even worth the repair. Just save your money and get a high quality vacuum at sears. July 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by blows dirt everywhere!!!! This vacuum does not work beyond 4 months. even with a brand new bag, it blows dirt and particles everywhere. It ruins my whole day. So frustrating. I just want a vacuum that works!!!!!!!! Ive resorted to using a broom on the carpets because, at least I get the big pieces up. When it did work...briefly, the attachment hose would fall out constantly blowing stuff everywhere!!!!! so annoying! June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best vacuum in 55 years!!!!!!! Who knows how many vacs I have owned in 55 years, but I would buy this one for the next 55. Hope they don't quit making it. Never heard a vac so quiet ... first thought something was wrong. It didn't sound like a jet. Easy push and raises nap like new. Large bag capacity - bagless vacs are too much maintenance, too messy and way over rated. This is simple with no frills - it just does what it is supposed to. For $40+, it is a steal. June 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This product lasted just 2 months longer then the waranty This product only lasted 2 months longer than the warranty which is very disappointing. May 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I would buy it again I know this vac does not have the bells and whistles like others but I wanted a bag vac. I am not spending my time on filters to wash and dry. I take the bag out and put another in. It has great suction and I'm very happy not spending so much money . I'm going on 2 years now. Thanks Bissell May 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vac I purchased this vac at Walmart, because it was inexpensive from a name brand. It served me well over 4 years in a rental building used and abused by many users. The only drawback is that it needs to be taken apart sometimes to clean it out, but bissel made it easy to do. I have the bag-less version for home use now over 5 years no problems! April 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Can't unclog When I purchased did not have dogs. Now I have two and the Bissell does okay on the dog hair. My problem is that the two vacuums I have, both are clogged with dog hair. It seems the only way to totally unclogged is to take the vacuum apart, which I don't want to do, since it may not got back together correctly then it becomes useless. March 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing vacuum I have had this vacuum about a month. it is honestly the best vacuum i have ever used. it is light weight has great power and the bags capture everything. i have severe allergies and asthma and this vacuum helps so much with both problems March 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tools I can't get the tools to work. Was going to use my vacuum to clean my dryer and it there is no suction? I have the bissell power force can't fine a model number or anything. I'm sure there is just some silly switch I can't find. February 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product This is a great product! I can't believe how much of a difference it is between this and my Kirby. February 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome I have been looking every were for a good priced bagged vacuum that can clean up cat litter and the mess my child leaves behind when I found this one I was impressed at the price and the cleaning power it has my carpets look like new it picks up the tracked cat litter with ease and cleans up all the messes my child throws its way I like the hose and simplicity of this product if it dies or just stops working I will buy another one just like it The only feature I wish it had was an option to turn the beater brush off so I can clean the kitchen and bathrooms better February 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by horrible i purchased this 4 months ago and i replaced the bag well i hooked it up right but the stuff doesnt go in the bag at all i have to keep cleaning the tube because it goes all in there i don't get it and i cant find my receipt February 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product USED to be #1 I think the quality has significantly dropped. The hose NEVER stays attached (unless its attached to your leg like the neighbors annoying dog)and this is very frustrating. I used to highly recommend this vac but no longer do. I clean for a living and will definitely shop for a different vac.please I'm begging you, FIX THE HOSE!!!!!! January 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by PowerForce Bagged Vacuum Well, I got stupid and gave up my 2 previous PowerForce Bagged Vacuums for, you guessed it, a really expensive well-known brand where they come to your door to sell. Bad move. So, after a couple years of dealing with this very, very heavy sweeper with no onboard attachments (you have to dismantle the front to add the attachments), I finally had had enough and bought another Bissell. These are great!! The Bissell is very light, easy to carry up/down stairs, and the onboard attachments make all the difference. I am happy again. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great value, good performance We've had it and used it extensively for the past 10 years. It works great. Bags keep the dust down... I wouldn't buy another bagless any time soon. January 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy with the PowerForce Bagged Vacuum. I was in need of a Vacuum badly, As my other one wasn't doing the job. I got this vacuum for Christmas 2013 and I love it! It sure does pick up great and Makes the carpet look like new every time I use it. Thanks, Bissell. :) January 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Vacuum! I was in desperate need of a good , powerful vacuum cleaner. The one that I had would not pick up the sand and dust that accumulates on our floors. I received my Bissell for Christmas this year 2013! and I am amazed and pleased at the job it is doing! It makes cleaning fun again! so far so good! It is a great vacuum! December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by SWEET VAC I LOVE THE VACUAM AND I AIM VERY IMPRESSED WITH ITS SUCHTION AND P[OWER I HAVE HAD IT TWO YEARS AND STILL WORKS LIKE NEW. December 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressed This is a great affordable vacuum. It is lightweight & does a great job cleaning up after my 3 cats. The suction hose comes loose often even though I push on it as hard as I can. I only say this in hopes that Bissell will fix that in the next model. This vacuum has out-performed my more expensive vacuum and then some. December 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Powerforce vacuum This is the worst vacuum I have ever bought. Through the years I have purchased this vacuum over and over because of cost not because I was a fan; and every Bissel that I owned the release lever on the vacuum would break. Today, I had to go out and purchase another vacuum because the power switch broke this time around. I only gave it one star because the paint held up well. December 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pet hair clean up vacuum This is our third version of the vacuum. We like the suction and the ease of movement. I would like a longer cord. The suction hose tends to come off randomly while vacuuming sucking my shoes or pant leg. If this could be fixed, it would be a great vacuuming experience. December 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my Bissell I love my vacuum. One of the best investments I ever made. With the Burber carpet and my hardwood floors, it picks up everything. The only thing I had a problem is with finding a bag at the Wal-mart in Pensacola, Fl.- Mobile Hwy. Had to order them on line. They were here in three days! Thank you Bissell! November 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luv it Liv it Luv it After my old vacuum died out , I went to Walmart looking for an economical replacement. Having two cats in the house, I'd become accustomed to using duct tape and a brush to remove remaining cat hairs from rug and furniture after vacuuming. I was overjoyed and grateful at how well my new Bissell sucked that cat hair right up. BISSELL, thank you! The only problem that I had was keeping the extension rod connected. Despite this minor inconvenience, this vacuum produces great results. I would definitely recommend it. November 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by vacuum it sweeps the floors great. i love this vacuum. because i have owned one before November 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't forget to check out the REmanufactered! I had a big mess to clean up and didn't want to use my "good" machine. I ran out to a discount store and got this remanufactured one. To be honest, I was shocked at how efficient it was. It's perfect for my needs. I use it for daily straighten ups. I've had it for about 7 months. I love this little giant! November 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE LOVE LOVE IT I have had owned my vacuum for 2-3 years now. Aside from an enormous clog I had to deal with, it is still running and still the best vacuum I have owned. It hasn't even broken a belt yet! I'm impressed, and as long as Walmart carries them, I will be buying it. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Oh what a value... I just wanted a cheap vaccum cleaner for cob webs in the basement and the cat's area. At $40 at WalMart, I was so impressed with the first one I bought another for the main floor and one for the office. I've always hated the cyclonics because cleaning the containers can be discusting and just more work. Going back to the "classic" bag style is all I needed-remove it and tape over the hole and into the trash. Simple, no clean up. Only issue is the somewhat short cord and its tendancy to fall over. November 11, 2013
<<<2 3 4 5 6 >>>

Featured Products

$42.84*

  • Febreze® bags available!
  • Febreze® Bags Available!

    Eliminates Odors and Freshens as you vacuum

    3267.jpg17F9.jpg17F9-L-2.jpg

    bissell.com.jpg

    walmart.jpg

    Febreze and related trademarks are owned by The Procter & Gamble Company, Cincinnati, Ohio and used under license by BISSELL Homecare, Inc.

     

     

     

Loading...
Febreze-Filters-Maintenance_181x141
BOGO20_TriggerForm_FGsquare
Loading...

Price, promotions, styles and availability may vary by retail location and on other online sites. Retailers alone determine these factors.

Shipping & Handling


How much does shipping cost?

We offer free standard shipping on all orders over $30 on bissell.com! No coupon code is needed.

Here are rates for other order amounts and shipping methods:

  • Up to $4.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $3.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $8.99

  • $5 - $19.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $5.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $20 - $29.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: $7.95
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $30 - $99.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $14.99

  • $100 - $229.99 order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $21.99

  • $230 and up order:
    • Standard Shipping: FREE!
    • Expedited Shipping: $35.99

When will my order arrive?
After adding items to your shopping cart, you will able to choose from two shipping options: standard (5-7 business days) and expedited (3-5 business days). Next to each option is a delivery estimate date window, which will calculate dates including "business days" and determine when most shipments will arrive. 

 

How are estimated delivery dates calculated?

  • Most orders placed before 2pm ET on a business day process and ship on the same day. Business days count forward from there.
  • Most orders placed after 2pm ET or on weekends/holidays will process and ship the following business day. Business days count forward from there.

 

What are considered business days?
Business days include Monday–Friday and exclude holidays. Holidays in 2014 include: May 26, July 4, September 1, November 27, November 28, December 25, and December 26.

 

When will I receive my tracking number?
Tracking numbers are sent to you in an email about 24-48 hours after your order ships. This delay allows the shipment to be processed by the shipment carrier’s website. Your order should still arrive within the original estimated window.

The email will arrive with the subject, “Your BISSELL shipping confirmation”. You can also visit the View Your Order page anytime to find the latest status of your order, including its tracking number once it has shipped.

 

What carrier will be used to ship my order?
BISSELL uses multiple carriers to ship products. The carrier who ships your order is selected by our shipping department and depends on many factors including items purchased, delivery address, warehouse inventory levels, and more.

 

Will my entire order arrive in one shipment?
Multi-item orders may require shipments from multiple warehouse locations, so you may receive some items separately. Details for each shipment will be provided by email and will be available on the View Your Order page.

 

What about orders outside of the continental US?
Standard shipments to Alaska, Hawaii, Guam, Puerto Rico, American Samoa and Virgin Islands will arrive within 15 business days.

 

What about P.O. Boxes or Military Addresses?
If you have a P.O. Box, an APO or a military address, you will need to place your order over the phone by calling BISSELL Customer Care at 1-800-237-7691 during these hours:
Monday- Friday: 8am to 10pm ET
Saturdays: 9am to 8pm ET
Sundays: 10am to 7pm ET

 

What about Special "As Seen on TV" Offers?
The above information does not necessarily apply to special "As Seen on TV" offers.

Return Policy

BISSELL.com’s return policy is simple and convenient:

  • If you’re not completely satisfied with your purchase, return it for a replacement or full refund within 30 days of the delivery date.*
  • You can arrange for at-home pick-up of your return
  • Pay just $4.95 in return shipping
*For safety reasons, cleaning formula purchases cannot be returned or refunded.

Return Instructions:

  1. Pack all items (including all accessories and manuals) securely and include the packaging list that was sent with the order.
  2. Attach the return address label on the outside of the package being returned. A $4.95 return shipping fee will be deducted from your bill.
  3. Take the package to an authorized ship center, or if you would like to schedule a pick-up call the FedEx Return Program at (888) 777-6040.

Refund Information:

Once we receive the merchandise, it will be inspected to make sure it meets quality standards. BISSELL Inc. reserves the right to deny refund for returned merchandise which appears to be excessively used or abused.

The refund will be issued in either check or credit format based on the original purchase once the return has been processed at our facility. It can take up to 4 weeks for your refund to be processed. Note that the original shipping and handling costs will not be refunded.

If you are out of the 30 day window for returns, refer to the warranty policy in your user's guide.

Return mailing address:

BISSELL Homecare, Inc.
5700 S International Pkwy
Suite B
McAllen TX 78503

Earn Rewards

Join the We Mean Clean Rewards program and you can earn points toward exclusive discounts. You’ll earn points when you register BISSELL products, make online purchases, and participate in special events and online activities. Signing up also means you can keep track of purchases and easily reorder replacement items (filters, mop pads) – and you’ll get expedited customer service!

Be sure to create an account during the checkout process to get the points for your purchase right away. Or, sign up now.

Rewards Tier Table

Where To Buy

Color & features may vary by retailer.

Find a local retailer:

Enter your zip code to find at a store near you.
Loading...

Price, promotions, styles and availability may vary by retail location and on other online sites. Retailers alone determine these factors.

Located on the white label above, usually on the back of the machine.
Close

Sign up for BISSELL Emails!

Get expert advice, time-saving tips & special offers.

New Subscriber? Sign up and receive 10% off your next bissell.com purchase!

Sign Up

It looks like that is an improperly formatted email address. Please try again.
Close

Thank You For Signing Up!

Check your inbox for expert advice, time-saving
tips & special offers.

Home to a Deeper Clean
Loading
Loading

Exclusive Offer for Email Subscribers! learn more

Signup

get free shipping on any order over $30!Learn More »